Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I always get compliments on this. I love it because it's so amazingly easy to put together and it's homemade with a homemade taste, perfect for potlucks. I omit the breadcrumbs, the mac & cheese is awesome by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I just made this for lunch, and oh boy! This was good stuff! I was extremely skeptical about using sour cream and cottage cheese (as I hate both) and the lack of a roux to make the cheese sauce, but this turned out fabulously! It really tasted just as great as my regular baked mac and cheese, except even creamier! I did make some small changes as I wanted a healthier recipe. I used low fat sour cream and cottage cheese, and half the butter and breadcrumbs for the topping. I also blended the cottage cheese and sour cream in a food processor until perfectly smooth before mixing it with the cheese and pasta. The addition of sour cream and cottage cheese definitely increased the protein in this dish as compared to regular mac and cheese. With the minor changes one serving came in at just under 300 calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Eh. First time making homemade mac and cheese. My husband seemed to like it, but it tasted like it was missing something, and I think I expected the breaded topping to get crunchy/crispy, so the texture disappointed me. Not sure it's all the fault of the recipe, or maybe I'm just not really a homemade mac and cheese kind of gal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This was delicious and super easy. I look forward to trying different variations of this. I was hesitant about using cottage cheese, but it just made the dish creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This mac and cheese was just okay. It called for WAY too many bread crumbs. I felt like it also was missing a flavor. Overall it was decent. Not sure that I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
my family and i love this recipe. it is also an excellent if you add some bacon with sauted onion and garlic with about 1/4 cup white truffle oil. i actually add about 12oz of the sharp chedder instead of the 8oz and a full cup of the parmesean.sooooo decadent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Ann Long

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I've made this many times over the last couple of years and it's always a big hit. I've even added big slices of tomato under the breadcrumbs and it's delicious. This last time, I made it the night before (except for breadcrumb layer) and it baked perfectly. Just need to make sure there's plenty of time to bring it up to room temperature before putting it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
everybody LOVED it! We like really creamy mac & cheese (I usually make it with velveeta!), so I may try some velveeta in it next time too, but it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I always get compliments on this dish as it has become my staple Thanksgiving contribution. I have not changed anything in the recipe, just added more cheese. Can't wait to try it again with a few of the suggestions I read here. This is the first time I have reviewed any recipe here and it is just because, I think it is that good! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States