Chuck's Come On Ice Cream (or Night of the Red Death) Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
My husband makes this chili...he always says "real chili doesn't have beans or ground beef in it!" I personally like the beans and beef. But this is a nice change from my normal chili (could be a little spicier though). Definitely like the rub for the meat...will use that elsewhere. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Awesome is all I can say about this chili! I made it for a pot luck and work and left with an empty bowl. I added two large cans of pinto beans since I didn't have time to cook my own, which worked out well. I was also in a pinch on jalapenos, so I used the canned tomato/jalapeno combination. It was good for everyone. Next time I will make the time to use fresh chiles, but hey, in a pinch the canned stuff works too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazeemommee3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
A Great Chili Recipie! My family LOVED it the first night but they really enjoyed themselves when we finished the left overs later in the week. The seasonings get a chance to really bring out the best in the chili. I would recommend fixing this dish but actually serving it later in the week. Now that its Fall my family is looking forward to Red Death Chili :n)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Spicy and very flavorful. Adding beans lends good texture and good nutrition without changing the flavor. The best way to make it is to marinate the meat overnight for at least 12 hours, then saute the meat in the morning. I used 2 saute pans simultaneously to cut down on the time I was standing over the stove; that's a lotta meat to brown. Put all the ingredients into a crock pot and simmer all day in on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is THE best chili I have ever made or eaten! This is going to be a family standard in the winter. It is pretty spicy and we liked that. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Fantastic recipe! I actually won a chili cook-off using this one. Be sure to only use the amount of peppers you're comfortable with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I'm not really into super hot stuff so I didn't add the jalapenos. That could be why I didn't think it was as good as everyone else. I was looking for a beanless chili and thought I'd try this one; it definitely was not worth the time and effort it took to put together-thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
We love chili and we love this recipe. It has enough ingredients that you can leave some out, substitute others or add something different and still have a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is definately better the next day. The heat in this varies on what type of salsa that you use, and how many peppers that you put in (I used serrano's and jalapeno's and it still wasn't hot). My husband didn't care for it as much as I thought that he would (said it looked like dog food), but again, he didn't try it the next day. I added quite a bit more chili powder and cumin to get the taste that we are used to, but didn't need the ice cream. Thanks jibefan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Great Chili, I added 2 cans of black beans and 2 cans of red beans, because it's not chili without beans (according to my husband). Also, I cut back on the jalapenos a bit, since I'm wimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States