Chuck's Come On Ice Cream (or Night of the Red Death) Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Probably the best chili recipe I've ever made. I make about 15 lbs and take to work around Christmas and it gets wiped out completely. Highly recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The best! First batch was made with venison and was to die for good. Used 12 large fresh jalepenos and for this second batch replaced some of my spices which had faded flavor from too long on the shelf. Great as first batch was the fresher spices are an improving factor. Use a HOT salsa and all of the cayenne and chili powder called for. It will be spicy but not overly so. I also "chopped" the onions in a food processor almost to the point of juicing ... I think that helps distribute flavor especially after a couple days of storage. Bag it in 2 serving portions, freeze and heat in the microwave. Great way for a one person household to eat well without a lot of fussing in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
My whole family loves this! Great combination of flavors. I do halve the cayenne because my daughter can't handle tons of heat. I added beans to it one time (I know...real chili doesn't have beans) and that was really good too. And of course, we always have ice cream for dessert! It IS part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe almost exactly (I added kidney beans) and this was a very good chili but something kept nagging at me that there was something missing. The boy gave it a 5, I give it a 4 because I think it needs more spices in the chili itself, not just on the meat. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My family and friends *love* this recipe! I have been making it for several years. Don't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gold Beach, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
A great chili recipe. I omitted the bacon grease and Salsa, used some canned tomatoes with extra peppers as I did not have these ingredients on hand. Lefotvers froze nicely in ziploc bags and were eaten within a month. The rub is great and I use that spice combo for anything that calls for southwest seasonings as well as for a fajita rub I then top with garlic, lime juice, cilantro and shallots. It is my favorite fajita marinade. Very nice recipe and general rub. It is very spicy (in a good way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was made for my Murder Mystery. Everyone absolutely loved it. I bought ground beef sirloin and ground pork instead of the chunks and it came out perfect! I also substituted bottled chopped jalapeno pepper instead of fresh to save time and it came out just as good. Keep adding more if you like it really spicy. We didn't try it with ice cream. Next time I make it (and it will become my chili dish to make from now on) I will add some shredded cheese to each serving and a dollop of sour cream for the finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Doyle Andrews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Very good! I added chili beans and celery too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was a good chili. I was expecting something more with all the rave reviews but wasn't blown off my feet (perhaps my expectations are the problem? ; ) ). Still, we'll eat it again and enjoy it. We did reduce the spicy spices so the kids could eat it too - 1 tsp of chili powder and 1/2 tsp of cayenne in the marinade rub and then just the jalapeno in the chili itself. Still had heat but didn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Yes! Thank you! I was looking for a chili without ground beef. This is excellent. I let the prepared rubbed meat sit for a day in refrigerator. I reduced the spice because the "Red Death" title scared me for a family meal but would not do that again. I cooked in a slow cooker for 9 hours (followed recipe up until the point of simmering). Melt-in-mouth tender. I added black and pinto beans at very end. Note: it was soupy and one of my sons likes a thick chili - so I will work on that next time. I did not drain the tomatoes and maybe that is why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States