Chuck Wagon Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Add onion, garlic, oregano, a pinch of basil, seasoned salt, and a dollop of sour cream, and this is a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I fixed this for dinner last night. I took the advice of other viewer and added a pinch of basil, oregano, and garlic. I also used rotel instead of tomatoes.Lots of flavor. My extremely picky 10 yr old son loved it! Thank you for the recipe will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I followed another's idea of oregano and basil, drained the juice from the tomatoes down the drain and added 1 Tbsp. worcestershire sauce and approx. 1/4 tsp. mustard powder. One of the best soups I have ever had. My 4 year old son asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I thought this recipe was really good. I will definately be using it again. i had never had a stew with regular hamburger meat i had always had it with stew meat cooked in a slow cooker. i used the french grean beans and spicy tomatoes just because i like them better. and broth instead of the cubes and water because i didnt have cubes... i used onion salt instead of onions because if my friend sees an onion she wont eat it but i wish i would have... and i thought about adding corn and i think next time i will
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lady K
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Will definitely make again! I followed other reviews and added garlic, oregano, and some worcestershire sauce for some extra flavor. Perfect for a winter day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Very nice. This is very easy, and a relatively quick meal. I did add some spices: garlic, rosemary, thyme, and basil. I ended up letting it simmer for a while, which made it thicken from the potatoes breaking down, but it was still pretty good. Not bad at all from something that uses two cans and a few other ingredients. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was excellent! We added a few ingredients...hominy, italian diced tomatoes instead of regular, and some more seasonings. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was delicious, quick, and low calorie. We all loved it ~ I served it with homemade Bisquick biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnySoCal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
a keeper. i doubled the recipe, and the only thing i changed, is i used a can of corn in place of one of the cans of green beans. i loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was very good! I followed the advice of others' and added a pinch of garlic, basil, and oregano to the meat and onions while browning. I also used ground turkey because it was all I had and it is a bit healthier. I didn't think it was too salty at all. I also drained the tomatoes before adding them because I thought it had enough juice and didn't want to make it too soupy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States