Chuck Wagon Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was delicious, quick, and low calorie. We all loved it ~ I served it with homemade Bisquick biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnySoCal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lady K
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Will definitely make again! I followed other reviews and added garlic, oregano, and some worcestershire sauce for some extra flavor. Perfect for a winter day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was very good! I followed the advice of others' and added a pinch of garlic, basil, and oregano to the meat and onions while browning. I also used ground turkey because it was all I had and it is a bit healthier. I didn't think it was too salty at all. I also drained the tomatoes before adding them because I thought it had enough juice and didn't want to make it too soupy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
a keeper. i doubled the recipe, and the only thing i changed, is i used a can of corn in place of one of the cans of green beans. i loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I followed another's idea of oregano and basil, drained the juice from the tomatoes down the drain and added 1 Tbsp. worcestershire sauce and approx. 1/4 tsp. mustard powder. One of the best soups I have ever had. My 4 year old son asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This rates a 5* given the fact it's easy, it's low calorie (relatively), it's fast, & most important - it's quite tasty. Minor changes based on others' input; added basil, oregano, garlic powder to the ground beef. Used lean ground. Used 1 can beef boullion instead of cubes. 2nd time - 1 can green beans, 1 can sliced carrots, 1 can sliced mushrooms, 1 can mixed veggies - a little bit of thickener to thicken up the stew. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
We liked this. I used 2 fresh tomatoes, chopped, instead of canned and some frozen corn. I didn't have beef bouillon, so just didn't add it- just seasoned it a bit more. Also tasty with some cilantro or parsley added at the end and topped with cheese or sour cream. Still, it's a keeper for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was a great quick weeknight meal. I used 3 cans of beef broth instead of bouillon and substituted leftover sauteed cabbage and frozen mixed veggies for the green beans. Great way to clear out some of the leftover veggies in the fridge! The stew is a great base that can be varied depending on what is available in your pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was easy to make, good, but did not stand out as a soup I had to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Thorson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Goes down easy and so easy to make plus my brother now thinks I'm the best cook ever. Can't beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States