Chuck Wagon Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This is a very good easy recipe. The only changes I made were to use 3 cloves fresh garlic with the onions and Minute brown rice that was cooled. also I omitted the corn. My wife is a very picky eater and loved this. Will become a regular meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I am a comfort food, casserole fan, and this recipe fits the bill on both counts. The spice choices are excellent, especially the red pepper flakes which provide just the right level of bite. I only had enough cheddar cheese to cover half of the hash so I used a couple of pepper jack slices to cover the rest. Honestly, the pepper jack side was better (of course I ate some from BOTH sides, whaddayathink!)because it compliments and continues the red pepper flake theme. I don't see any reason for the rice to be "cold." The rice I used was still warm and it worked great. Thanks for a great, down-home recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was very tasty. I served as a side with Scrambled eggs for dinner and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Found 2 cups of rice to be a bit much - would halve the amount next time. Doubled the spices (except the red pepper flakes) and still found it needing in the flavor dept. Might triple the dosage next time. Good and filling nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Delicious.!! We just loved it. Very filling. Definitely a keeper in our house. Didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
My boyfriend liked it (or at least he said he did), but I found the oregano flavor to be a bit strong - it overpowered the other flavors, in my opinion. I would consider making this again, but with half the oregano (or maybe none) and perhaps more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Only thing I would add would be a little bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This was okay for a quick, cheap dinner. You really do need the beef broth to add some saltiness and to keep the dish from being dried out. I used creamed corn and next time I will leave out the oregano - too strong and the flavor does not go well with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is pretty good, but I'm kinda done with "canned soup" cassaroles. Tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I love this recipe. I use brown rice and I usually double the recipe so that I have plenty for leftovers. It is addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States