Christmas Wreaths Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Teresa
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I recommend 3 c. of mini marshmallows instead of 30 large ones -- they are easier to measure and melt better. Also, the gel icing color manufactured by Wilton is far superior to food coloring. It produces much better color results. You can also do 1/2 t. vanilla and 1/2 t. almond extract for a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I LOVED making these as a kid with my mom..now it's my turn to make them! I don't like the cinnamon candies so I replaced those with the pull apart licorice that I tie into a bow. On some I add mini m&m's for some color! These do take some work, but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I make a style of these every year. My mom made them for my birthday and they just followed me through my life :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Whether you are a fan of marshmallow treats or not, these cookies bring ooh’s and ah’s from both adults and kids. On top of which, they look absolutely great on a Christmas cookie tray. One learns quickly, if they want to mess with trying to make wreaths with a hole in the middle. After messing with this 1st cookie for about 30 seconds, I changed my methodology to putting globs of the green mixture down, and it worked great. In my opinion, and in the opinion of the “consumers”, they looked very “holidayish”. My frosted sugar cookies and almond roca appeared just so-so, but with these marshmallow treats on top of my holiday tray, it looked great. As other reviewers suggest, you need to work quickly when putting the red M&M’s on the wreaths because the marshmallow and corn flake mixture will harden enough that the candies may be reluctant to stick on top if not done within 3 to 5 minutes of being placed on the tray. The method I used to lay the sticky wreath globs down was to wear latex gloves covered with melted butter. Another hint that I used from previous readers is to use parchment paper; works fine. Only difficulty I had was to get the wreath mixture to adequately harden. I finally placed them in a cool place and they hardened adequately. Bottom line; the consumers (both kids and adults) made a point to say the wreaths tasted really good. They will be on top of my Christmas trays in future years again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These are my FAVORITE to eat and make---they can be tedious to make but I feel if they cool off a little in the pan they are easier to work with, and make sure you have well greased hands and I keep a small bowl of water to dip them in like a PP said water works just as good as greased hands. Also I use red sprinkles instead of red hots for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULI42298
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These were ok, but there just didn't seem to be enough marshmallow mixture to cover all the cornflakes and we ended up with "bald" spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I tried to make them just as the recipe said, however, after fighting to get them shaped right I finally just rolled them in log form then shaped them into wreaths... musch easier. I also used rice krispies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
4 stars because I made just a couple adjustments. I used an entire bag (10oz) of marshmallows & 2 tsp. green food coloring. Melted the marshmallow mixture in glass bowl in microwave. Cooked 1 minute, stirred, then did 30 second intervals until smooth. It made 24 large wreaths. Will look very festive on cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
you can't go wrong with this recipe. it is widely known everywhere. i've seen some with almond extract and that is just weird to me. and i don't use red hots anymore because my husband just picks them off for me to eat anyway. one year when i did use them my dog got into the bag when we were gone and we came back to a pink eared golden retriever. so no more red hots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plumtree, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
So delicious I loved them for sure, and even more sure that my guests will love them just as much as I do. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States