Christmas Wreaths Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These are my FAVORITE to eat and make---they can be tedious to make but I feel if they cool off a little in the pan they are easier to work with, and make sure you have well greased hands and I keep a small bowl of water to dip them in like a PP said water works just as good as greased hands. Also I use red sprinkles instead of red hots for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULI42298
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These were ok, but there just didn't seem to be enough marshmallow mixture to cover all the cornflakes and we ended up with "bald" spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I tried to make them just as the recipe said, however, after fighting to get them shaped right I finally just rolled them in log form then shaped them into wreaths... musch easier. I also used rice krispies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
4 stars because I made just a couple adjustments. I used an entire bag (10oz) of marshmallows & 2 tsp. green food coloring. Melted the marshmallow mixture in glass bowl in microwave. Cooked 1 minute, stirred, then did 30 second intervals until smooth. It made 24 large wreaths. Will look very festive on cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
you can't go wrong with this recipe. it is widely known everywhere. i've seen some with almond extract and that is just weird to me. and i don't use red hots anymore because my husband just picks them off for me to eat anyway. one year when i did use them my dog got into the bag when we were gone and we came back to a pink eared golden retriever. so no more red hots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plumtree, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
So delicious I loved them for sure, and even more sure that my guests will love them just as much as I do. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My Grandmother used to make these every Christmas! In fact, it just wasn't Christmas without them (or church window cookies, and her fudge). Now, it's up to me to carry on her tradition but mine didn't turn out quite as pretty.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Krista
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Quick and easy. I was scared at first that the cornflakes would not stick but it was no problem. I used mini smarties to have a colourful look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These were good and pretty easy to make. I used Rice Krispies cereal because that's what I had and it worked fine. I followed the advice from another reviewer and wet my fingers with water instead of oil or butter, and it worked perfectly. I had no problems with the mixture cooling too quickly and was able to make cute little wreaths without much trouble. Instead of red hots, I sprinkled the warm wreaths with cinnamon-flavored red sugar crystals and they looked and tasted great. It gave it just a hint of cinnamon without the spiciness of biting into a red hot candy. The only thing I didn't love was that the food coloring did turn my teeth and tongue a little green, even though I used a little less than the recipe called for. Otherwise, a cute, colorful addition to my Christmas goodie plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These are REALLY good, I love them! They are especially good if you use almond extract in place of vanilla. I never use the cinnamon candies either, but when I take them to a potluck this year, I may try using the nonpareils as another reader suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States