Christmas Wreaths Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Mine looked good, but turned out a disaster - I probably did something wrong somewhere, they wouldn't lift off the wax paper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I gave this four stars because I can never get my wreaths to be as vibrant green as I would like. These are very good, but a lot of work. A shortcut for molding the wreaths is to drop a ball of the mixture onto wax paper and take the end of a plastic spoon, stick it in the middle to make a hole, then spin it around to make the wreath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Kind of messy, and takes longer to set than I thought, but they were a huge success. I didn't take a single cookie home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Husband was really pleased (was made for his work potluck). Because they were so sticky I put them in the fridge while still on the wax paper in order to peel them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I'm only giving this 4 stars because I found it very hard to form the wreaths in time before they cooled. I now see the other reviews that said it helps to have a 2nd person! It also didn't help that i have long nails. As far as the taste? Excellent. They taste just like rice krispie treats. I might use those less time and less than 3 cups too. I used way more food coloring than it said or otherwise they would have been not very green. They look really cute too. I'll definitely save this recipe for future years and one day, little helpers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I girl from work made these and they were great, but mine were a little hard...a little too crunchy. I think I used a little too many corn flakes. They're good though. And don't be stingy with the food coloring, otherwise they're just a pale green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
My family has been making these cookies for as long as I can remember. I cannot be without them, even at college. So, I made an easy microwave/dorm version. Ladies, this recipe will make you VERY popular with the college guys! Put all 30 marshmallows and a stick of butter in a microwave-safe Tupperware bowl (I like the holiday-themed disposable type from the grocery store). Microwave for 1 min, stir well and repeat in 30sec intervals until all of the lumps are out of the marshmallows - make the rest of the recipe as directed. While the wreaths are still sticky, I quickly sprinkle multi-colored sprinkles (to look like lights) and draw a little bow in red frosting. Ta-Da!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
The kids love these wreaths. I've made them for decades. I skip the shaping of the wreath and just dab a spoonful on wax paper and add the two red hots. There beautiful and always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! I've been making them for almost as long as I can remember and my mom made them before I was old enough to. The wreaths are so very much easier to shape with your hands than with a spoon. But if you don't want to be a green-handed elf for the next week use plastic or rubber gloves and to help with the sticky nature of these delightful treats, generously (and frequently) butter your hands (gloves).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I did not like this recipe. I didn't like the taste of the cookie with the cornflake cereal. I like the flavor of this type of treat with rice krispies so much better. I could not get them into a wreath shape without burning my fingers and the marshmallow stuck to my fingers. It was a hassle and I don't think I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APKinney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States