Christmas Turtle Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
These didn't last too long in my house! I would suggest though, that you use KRAFT caramels, I used Trophy and they weren't as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These are GOOD. We melted the carmels in a little water (per other suggestions). I think next time we'll just mix the pecans in with the melted carmel & spoon onto wax paper to add the melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I have made this recipe several times for work and family gatherings. Each time, they are a HUGE hit! Everyone thinks I spent hours making them, slaved over the stove with a candy thermometer, etc, etc. HA! (I have also used white chocolate chips and they turned out just as delicious.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Yummy yummy but straight to my butty butty (HA)! I wanted to have these for Christmas, but my homemade caramels didn't co-operate with that plan. So now that they are done they turned out great. I made them the exact way that Bergacs suggested (chopped pecans, chocolate dip) but using the Caramels recipe from this site and they are perfect! Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I made these last year for Christmas gifts and they were a hit! My sweetie who is very careful not to exaggerate raved and was amazed how the caramel was so soft. My secret? Hershey's individually wrapped soft caramel. It was quick easy, a little expensive but the reactions were worth it. I find quality ingredients boasts quality results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I tried making this recipe as written but the caramel came out so hard that it was inedible. I then tried melting the caramel on the stove and drizzling it over the pecans..IT WORKED. I blame my 20 year old oven for ruining my first batch. Melting the caramel on the stove takes a bit longer, but it's worth it. I also recommend using Kraft caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Hmmm. The first try, we followed the instructions exactly. We ended up with rock hard turtles and sore teeth. Then we tried melting the 30 hershey's caramels with one tablespoon of water in the microwave for one minute, then stirred, put back in microwave for thirty more seconds. We then drizzled the caramel onto the pecans with spoons. Then we spread on the melted chocolate and chilled them. They turned out soft and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
This was a fun easy recipe, great for kids. Make sure to keep a close eye on the melting carmels though. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
This recipe is AWESOME! This is really the easiest way I've found to make turtles and everyone loves them. Great Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
We really enjoyed these! I did take the advise of another user and premelted the carmels and drizzed it over the nuts rather than baking. I think next time I make these I will try using milk chocolate instead. These made a great addition to my good boxes and everybody enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laclede, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States