Christmas Turtle Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
it's good but it's hard when it's all done, and i think u should not get the BIG peacons try using the small ones. It's a little harder to set up but it's so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
not as easy as it is made out to be. be careful the caramel will go from melting to burnt before you know it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
great tasting, but the caramel was too hard to chew. It was that teeth ripping kind of chew. I wonder if anything can be done about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Fun and tasty recipe. We used it for our holiday gift baskets. We made the last batch into "flowers" instead of turtles due to losing turtle legs and heads - we had a turtle repair hospital! We slightly softened the caramel in the oven and then poked 3 whole toasted almonds in the top at an angle. Then we drizzled the chocolate over them. They were more visually appealing than the turtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
The turtles had great flavor but they were a little hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
These turned out great. I toasted the pecans for about 5 minutes before starting, and used a 300 degree oven as someone suggested. The caramel melted fine. I used the microwave to melt the chocolate 3 minutes at 40% power. Sinfully easy. The hardest part is unwrapping the candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Point, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Very good. I followed the advice of other raters and melted the caraml first. I also varied one of the batches by using Ghiradelli caramel filled squares and melted them on top of the pecans. I found that it's best to melt the Ghiradellis for 15 secs in the microwave and then put on top and in the overn. Mmmmm. I gave it 4 stars for having to alter the recipe as it was given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
Very easy and good. I use the oven to melt the caramels as the recipe states and the first time they did come out really hard. I played around a bit and found if you only heat the caramels enough to soften them (they still pretty much hold their shape) and don't let them melt completely they are much easier on the teeth!! (Spooning the chocolate over them flattens the caramel out so it doesn't end up looking square.) I have stayed with the oven method because the pecans get a nice toasted flavor to them, plus the clean up it easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I didn't read the advice about melting the caramel first and wish I would have, the caramel came out too hard. But other than that they were very easy to make, I think the most time consuming task was unwrapping the plastic on the caramel squares. I made them for Valentines day and they were a hit with my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
*WARNING* If you have TMJ do not try these. They taste great, but following the directions to the T will leave you with sore jaws, broke teeth, and lost fillings. I wish I had followed the other reviewers advise and fixed the caramels another way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Church Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States