Christmas Turtle Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This recipe is really yummy but it's much more difficult than I anticipated. Don't overcook or caramels will become too hard. Caramels melt better if they are flattened before placing into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Um, these are pretty good and dreadfully easy to make, but the caramel doesn't taste authentically turtle like. However, short of making your own caramel, I don't know how else to get it to taste right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I agree with other reviews, these did taste good, but were incredibly hard to chew. I think the preparation was fairly easy, I just wish they would've turned out a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I had some troubles with these the first time I made them, so when I tried again, I was able to make them much better by using the following tips: First suggestion, melt the caramels at the lowest temperature your oven goes. Second, once you see that the caramels are softening up after heating them, push them into the nut you are use gently, then put them in the oven again for about five more minutes. This helps greatly because then you aren't baking the caramels, just melting them. Also, I covered them all the way with chocolate. There were great the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I had the same problem as others...very hard to chew. Wish it would have melted better. Good taste all in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
The flavor is awesome and I thought they were pretty easy to make. They are a little hard to chew--but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I had no problems at all with this recipe. After the carmels had cooled, I just dunked them in the melted chocolate. They were a hit at Christmas and the kids are truly disappointed I don't have any around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This recipe did not turn out at all like it said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
The candy tasted fine once it was done. However, the preparation is way too tedious and the melted chocolate does not "pour" as the recipe states it would. I wish I had read the reviews before chosing to make these turtles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Carmels don't melt easily. Works better if you push the pecans together after baking. Don't melt the carmels to long they get hard like brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States