Christmas Turtle Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Admittedly, I did not use storebought caramels because I was scared of them turning rockhard like others noted. I used the Caramels recipe off this site and it worked out wonderfully. I used the semisweet chips called for for half the batch, chocolate almond bark for the the half. Gotta say that I preferred the almond bark coating on these. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
when i first went shopping for the caramels the store was fresh out of all of them so i tried rolos i set 1 on each pecan, they were amazing, they were not too hard, even after setting them in the fridge, everyone loved them and it was a quick fix!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Hood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Caramels were way to hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
You can also make these in the microwave. It takes just a few seconds. I don't wait for these to melt. I let them heat up enough to push down on the pecans, cool down then dip in melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
kids and I made them for wifes Christmas gift and she loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Tastes great, but hard to eat! Looks impressive as a homemade gift or part of your holiday cookie tray. I made the first batch just as the recipe reads, but the caramel ended up rock hard. I even lowered the oven temp to 250. Then I read some of the other reviews..... For the second batch, I microwaved the caramels with a tbsp of milk. Once melted, I stirred in some chopped pecans and dropped by spoonfuls onto waxed paper then I coated them in chocolate. After chilling, they looked great, except the caramel was so sticky, I couldn't peel it off the paper!! Finaly, after some time in the freezer, the caramel hardened up enough to peel the candy off the paper. I would make these again, but be sure to coat your waxed paper or foil with plenty of cooking spray to keep the candy from sticking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Like others I wish I'd read the comments first! I'm throwing this rock hard mess in the trash and using another's suggestion of melting the caramel in the microwave. With the price of pecans I'm just glad I didn't make a bigger batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
These are absolutly amazing! I made a couple batches of these for a party and everyone LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Tasted awsome, but carmel became very hard. Wish I would've read previous reviews first and changed how I melted the carmel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I did as other reviewers suggested and melted the caramel. Turned out very good. Everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States