Christmas Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I also did not have strawberry extract and instead subbed a tiny bit of vanilla. This recipe turned out good, but I gave it three stars simply because I was hoping for a purer strawberry flavor and less "spice cake" flavor. This is probably because I skipped the extract, so I will attempt it again with strawberry and maybe less cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This bread is unbelievably moist and tastes WONDERFUL. I will definitely be making this again and sharing it with my whole family. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Right out of the oven, this was way too sweet. I love sweet foods, and this was just too much. I was about to toss the bread the next day, but instead tried more of it. It was much better on day two and three. We didn't have any left on day three. I agree that the bread needs to be cooked a bit longer. I also used sugar instead of flour to prepare the pans. It makes the crust a bit crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Didn't have strawberry flavoring on hand so used almond. Was very dissapointed, it didn't turn out well at all. Perhaps I'll try agian with strawberry flavoring next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I made mini loaves for Christmas and they turned out wonderful. My family and friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is the best strawberry bread I have ever made and I've tried a lot of recipes. This bread is really moist and the flavor is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was good but we didn't find it great, like the other reviewers. I did not use the glaze per everyone's suggestion, and did find the strawberry extract. We started out baking 4 loaves and had a real problem. We took them out of the oven after 45 minutes, and the toothpick came out clean. However, within 5 minutes all 4 loaves had fallen. They weren't done. The toothpick came out clean because there was a space under the crust. I talked with my father-in-law who was a baker for 60 years and he told me to bake it for 55 minutes at 375 degrees. We made two more loaves and this was much closer to the cook time. He said it was because the strawberries while thawed were still cold and made the batter cold, increasing the bake time. After all the work the bread was good but just 3 stars in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I've made this bread the past 2 Christmases for my gift baskets and always get rave reviews. It's so moist and I love the cinnamon flavor - it tastes so good with the strawberries. I'll be making this again this Christmas and for more Christmases to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Cruson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This is one of my favorite bread recipes! My sis made it first, and sent it too me all the way from ND! And stayed moist! When I made it, I didn't have strawberry extract so I used a mix of almond, vanilla and a minimal amount of lemon extracts! It was wonderful! I also added a struesel toping from the banana crumb muffin recipe from this site, for some added sweetness. I followed other reviews and opted not to use the strawberry topping. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
oh YUM! ok so i didnt have any strawberry extract, and i needed to use up the strawberries in the fridge.. so although i only made 1 loaf (half recipe) i used the full 2 tbsp of strawberry jam instead of extract to make up for sweetness (that sweetened frozen strawberries have vs fresh ones). This is the most fab, gorgeous, pinkest bread - ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States