Christmas Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is THE BEST EVER, easiest, yummy and moist bread ever! I make LOTS of Christmas breads and I have never heard of this one! I read the other reviews and since I wanted more strawberry flavor I did cut the cinnamon to 1/2T, and I couldn't find strawberry extract.. that's the ONLY change I made, oh...I too didn't use the topping, just sprinkled with powdered sugar..GREAT GIFTS..EVERYONE LOVED THEM!! THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mello2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I've made this every Christmas holiday for the last coupld of years and it always get rave reviews. My friends expect me to make this for them now during the holidays. I find that it takes my oven 1 hour and 5 minutes to cook a large loaf and around 40-45 minutes to cook mini loaves. I sprinkle sugar on the bottom of the greased pan to give it a sweet and slightly crunch crust. I also omit the strawberry extract and I omit the glaze because it's sweet enough on it's own (and it transports better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBELOTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is very good bread. More like cake than bread. I did not have strawberry extract so I used vanilla - I did use less. Freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I made this in a bundt pan and served it with whipped topping in addition to the strawberry sauce. I could not find strawberry extract, so I used almond extract instead. It required over an hour of baking, but was worth the extra time: So delicious and AMAZING served warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Mmmm - VERY GOOD! I used fresh strawberries. I sprinkled brown sugar on top and granulated sugar in the pan instead of flour. Also - used vanilla instead of strawberry extract. The bread is like a dessert loaf! Its delicious! I did not feel the need to add the glaze - great without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greekqt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This tasted pretty good. I've never had a strawberry bread before, so this was new for me. I thought the cinnamon seemed excessive, so i only put in 1 teaspoon and the strawberry extract seemed like a lot too, so i only put in 1 teaspoon of that as well. But when i tasted the batter it didn't taste enough like strawberry even with all the fruit in there, so i put in the full 2 tablespoons of extract. However, next time i think i'll just use strawberry jam because by the time you put in all the extract you've just about used up the little bottle. I made the glaze and it tasted pretty good, altho i don't think the bread really needs it, I think it would taste great and stay moist on it's own without the glaze. I also did not get the nice pink color shown in the photo, mine was a light pinky-brown. I also ended up baking it longer than stated because it just wasn't getting done in the middle, i added additional 20 minutes and didn't want it to burn all around the edges so i took it out and after it cooled it fell in the middle and was a bit under baked still. Another reviewer suggested increasing the temperature as well as the bake time, so next time i'll try that. All in all this was pretty good and i'll make it again for friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYTESHADE74

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Very very excellent! I also had never heard of strawberry bread but thought it sounded good! Seemed like a great way to use up my strawberries!! Thank you!!! Family favorite now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NHcookto8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Box Elder, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Epping, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is my new favorite quick bread recipe. I made it exactly as directed. I did poke holes in the top of the bread with a wooden skewer and poured the warm glaze over so it would soak in better, but I might just skip the glaze altogether next time as I'm not sure it added anything other than calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I halved the recipe and used fresh strawberries that I had on hand. I was able to find the strawberry extract and I believe that that is what gives the bread the lovely pink color. This was very good - more of a cinnamon bread than a strawberry bread. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Good - I made this without the topping, substituted half the canola with applesauce, and used vanilla extract instead of strawberry. It's a great sweet bread for breakfast or a snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States