Christmas Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I looked in two grocery stores (Kroger and Super Target) and could not find strawberry extract, so I used vanilla extract based on another review. I thought this was a very tasty bread, but thought the cinnamon was a little overpowering (although this may have been because I didn't use the strawberry extract). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was a great recipe! I did not make the sauce and found that the bread is sweet enough. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This bread had a wonderful flavor. I have never had strawberry bread before, but it was much more than I expected! I would suggest if you don't intend to eat it up fast that you don't put the glaze on it after it bakes. Make the glaze and reserve it to place on slices. I found that it made the bread have a clammy texture because we didn't eat the two loaves right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This bread is definitely more like a dessert bread, but very good. However, its a little sweet for my liking, so I'll use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This bread is very moist and delicious. Instead of buying strawberry extract, I used 1 tsp. vanilla in the bread batter, and in the glaze I used about 1/2 tsp. vanilla plus a few drops of orange extract. I also use granulated sugar instead of flour whenever greasing the pans for quick breads. It makes a sweet little crust on the underside that is much more appealing than flour residue. Loved the recipe - will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This is wonderful cake/bread. Will be a favorite with us. I however found the added sweetness of the sauce was unnessasery,so will leave the sauce off in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This turned out really good followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Before discovering this recipe at the allrecipes.com website, I'd never heard of strawberry bread. Man, what a discovery! I will prepare this again and again. It's closer to cake than bread, but what does the name matter? It's moist, sweet but not overly sweet, unique, and spotlights strawberries--my favorite fruit. What more could we ask for? Five stars and beyond! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States