Christmas Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Made it now twice in a week to keep and give away. Made the first stage in bread machine. I added a TBSP of ground cardamon (as I noticed it in some other stollen recipes, some cinnamon, lemon zest and 1/4 cup of choc chips. Very yummy. The first time I made it I halved the recipe again, and made one gigantic stollen to give to teachers at school- however on reflection I think two medium size ones (which I am making now) are better, they look better, and I imagine bread to marzipan ratio would be better! Will keep this and use again each year. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My husband loved it! I made it in my bread maker (mine is a little older, so the last rise cycle doesn't work that well) so I just set it for the dough, then took it out and baked it. I used orange peel instead of lemon and cranberries. I will try a slice with my morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My Mom was German and I've been using this delicious recipe for the last 2 years. It is not meant to be a light fluffy loaf since a stollen is a dense chewy sweet bread. I've adapted the recipe to use the dough cycle of my bread maker so I put in the liquid ingredients first, then the dry ingredients. I wait until the 'add fruit/huts' beep in the kneading cycle to slowly add the chopped fruit. I add extra flour or milk as required at that time to make a smooth but moist ball of dough. I use dried cherries, candied ginger, citron, raisins and candied peel for my fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this recipe twice, differently both time, and both times yielded a very yummy product. This is a repeat! Take 1. -I used AP flour bc I didn't have bread flour. -I replaced the cherries w diced dried apricots, and soaked them, with the currants and raisins, in brandy for 20 mins. -I heated the milk in the microwave for 1 min, before dissolving the yeast (in hindsight, the milk ended up being too warm, and I wonder if that "killed" the yeast a bit). -I agree with others - if you have a stand mixer with a dough hook, there is no need for any more flour; however, given that the raisins etc. were a little wet, I did use some more flour in the kneading process to counter the extra moisture. -the first rise took 3 hrs, the second 1 hr - and even with the extra time, the dough did not get to more than 150% its original size -I omitted marzipan (hubby has almond allergies) Everything else I followed to a tee, and the product was a delicious, buttery stollen, albeit more "cakey" than the traditional I'm used to, given the AP flour. Take 2. - I soaked the dried fruits in rum overnight, to get more of the alcohol flavour - I used bread flour - First rise took 2 hrs, and the dough doubled nicely. I set the dough to rise in an oven I heated to 200 F, and then turned off - The second rise took 1 hr, the dough doubled, again I set it in a warm oven Both times, I divided the dough into 2 loaves. The result was a more traditional stollen texture with the same great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Try as I might, I cannot get the dough to rise. I have re-read this recipe. I don't know what I did wrong. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This is my 3rd holiday season making this stollen. I've tweeked a couple of things: I soak 1/3 c currants, 2/3 c apricots and 1/3 c golden raisins in brandy overnight and drain. This year I'm making my own marzipan (really easy!). Yes, it takes FOREVER to rise. A suggestion is to put it in the over with a pan of hot (about 110) water under. With all the fats and fruits, it's a slow rise. But, oh, so worth it!! I always double the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I am an experienced, and usually good baker, but this recipe didn't work well at all. Took very long to rise, both rises, and the resulting bread was heavier than I liked. The flavor was ok, but I had made it for gifts and was very hesitant to send them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe. I didn't have any marzipan but had soso almond filling. I doubled my recipe and used a whole can between the two breads. My husband who is not a big almond filling fanatic, couldn't stop eating it. I have found a new favorite recipe. Thanks for the recipe! Next time I will try it with marzipan when I find it. Merry Christmas everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I was very worried it wouldn't rise properly because it hadn't increased its volume significantly after each rise. However, it fortunately rose enough while actually baking and turned out delicious! Next time, I may increase the amount of marzipan used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
After reading a ton of reviews on this bread we made it and it was great! Added more flour and really lengthened the rise times. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States