Christmas Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
My kids really loved these. I made them to put on cookie plates at Christmas time. There just didn't seem to be enough to go around. I will have to make these again. They would work for any time of year with a different cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I am baking these again this year because they got such rave reviews last Christmas! Although not really a "refrigerator cookie", they are like a linzer torte. This summer I put up seedless red raspberry jam that I will use and really blow people's socks off! They are somewhat tedious but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Delicious cookie and beautiful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I made these for Christmas, and everyone enjoyed them. I made them again for Valentine's Day, using heart cookie cutters. I used seedless raspberry jam for the filling and everyone really liked them. One suggestion: I tend to make thick cookies, (I like them that way) but this recipe you need to keep them thin because, remember, you will be stacking them. My Christmas batch I made too thick, but the Valentine batch I made thinner and were great. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I found these cookies relatively hard to make & after all that effort I didn't think they tasted so good. I know I am not a good rolled cookie maker, but I had expected a better taste. They looked really nice on my cookie platter though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARREI
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I've been making these cookies for a few years now, and everybody demands them from me at Christmas time. Even though I've thought about 'retiring' from this exercise because it means torturous sessions toiling in the kitchen like a sweaty elf, I can't, simply because the results and the awed looks it generates from other folks are just that good! They're so gorgeous that really, they should be known as America's Next Top Cookie. One little thing I've learned is to keep the dough as cold as possible when rolling - even if that means keeping your kitchen window/door open. Another tip: cut the small star (the one that goes in the center of half of the cookies) once you've placed them on the cookie sheet. It's a lot easier to pry the excess centre dough with a small knife that it is trying to transfer the hollowed star shape onto the sheet intact. Finally, I use red and green decorator sugar to give it a more festive look - this year I'm going to try some icing sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARREI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
These are good u might have to keep them in the oven a little longer but they come out pretty yummy. I just sprinkled some decor sugar because it got a little confusing at the end of the recipe but if u can figure it out im sure it will taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Beautiful looking cookies!! I used green and yellow decorator sugars for a pretty star effect. Also, I used Tastefully Simple's Raspberry & Strawberry Jam - a wonderful combination for this cookie. Looked great and tasted great! I kept them stored in the fridge until serving and they were well recieved. I would make these in various shapes for various holidays (IE: Valentines day...heart cut-outs with the same jam and red sprinkles or possibly bridal or baby showers). To whomever posted this recipe: Thanks a million for providing me a recipe that gives the impression that I can bake cookies like I do it for a living!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Beautiful cookies. These are so festive looking, and very tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was my first endeavor into rolled cookie making, and they turned out quite nicely. I brought them to a holiday cookie exchange, and they were the first ones to be snatched up because they looked so festive. It's a little labor intensive but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States