Christmas Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I was so let down by this cookie. The title and descriptions had me excited to make it. Basically, it is just a sugar cookie, nothing special. It also makes a ton! I would consider making half. It made 84 halves, 4 sheets, and 42 cookies. I thought it was a lot of work for the taste. The dough is hard to work with, somewhat, even after refridgeration. It has to be rolled out about 3 times with extra flour to get it to not stick. I had some 100% fruit jelly in the fridge I really like. I specifically bought Smuckers strawberry jam for this, and thought it made it too sweet. It almost reminded me of pb&j. I used a linzer cookie cutter, to cut out interesting centers. The dough does not spread much when baking, which was nice. So, my shapes did come out. However, it was just too much work, and time involved, for such a plain taste. I might give them away to some neighborhood kids, but don't plan to serve them at the Christmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I found this recipe too sticky and hard to roll even after refridgerating for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These turned out awesome! They really tasted awesome! Just perfect :) I'm a beginner at backing but these are easy and yummy... With the rest of the dough, I used the smallest star cookie cutter and tiny little stars cookie were the cutest thing ever! Here's another tip that might be useful for you: When applying the marmalade or preserves apply it on the BOTTOM(the side that was touching the tray or cookie sheet) of the NOT cutout cookie because it's more stable. And with the cutout cookie, put the BOTTOM side of it on the preserves part...which means that the 2 bottoms of the 2 cookies touch! it looks really good and professional this way! :) Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
i like!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is definitely not the easiest dough in the world to work with, so here is how to save your sanity: after chilling the dough, cut the dough in half, roll each half out on a piece of parchment paper, and cut out your shapes. At this point, your dough will have softened up again, so put the dough back in the fridge for a few (10-20) minutes. The dough will then be stiff enough to work with, and you can simply peel the dough off the parchment paper and place onto your baking sheets. Take the remaining dough trimmings and repeat the process! A variation that you *MUST* try is to use Nutella in place of the jam - to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
A fun recipe, looks really nice, but it was a LOT of work. I will probably only make these for special once-in-a-lifetime occasions. The cookie itself was nothing special, but the cookies sandwiched with raspberry jam were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Tasty but a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
turned out great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
A lot of work, but worth it. Everyone raved about these little beauties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States