Christmas Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Reminds me of a healthier version of peek freens. Yummy. Will try raspberry filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These cookies were a trip, but in the end worth it! Not only did they look really good, but they tasted yummy as well, sweet and soft. I used parchment paper because they were very sticky and ended up baking them on it too. I also kept the smaller star, so i ended up with less than 2 dozen. but they were just so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lourdes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Great cookies! I didn't change a thing and they came out beautiful. There was a bit of a learning curve with the cut outs. I ended up transferring the dough between the two cookie cutters on top of a spatula onto the baking sheet and then removing the cutters from there. That seemed to work best. I used raspberry and pomegranate spread with green sprinkles on the top layer. Also, the thinner I was able to get them, the better they turned out (just had to keep an eye on cooking time). Perfect for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casablancaise
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made these with my 6 year yold daughter, with heart cookie cutters, for valentine. We sprinkled powdered sugar on the hollow hearts right after they came out of the oven.These cookies came out nice, but it took quite long time to finish all the dough, cause it kept getting very soft and sticky and I had to put it back in the fridge many time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chigal26
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made these cookies on Christmas eve. I used raspberry jam instead of strawberry jam. The cookies are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These are fabulous cookies, wow! I followed the recipe exactly. I mixed some powdered sugar with the flour when I rolled them out and then I sprinkled powdered sugar on top of the upper cookies. I used Smuckers Seedless Strawberry Jam for the filling. These were the cookies we baked for Santa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Coming from someone whose favorite cookie is Pepperidge Farm's "Verona," these are SO GOOD. I am impatient, so I only chilled the dough for 30 minutes, and the cookies came out totally great. I didn't have star cutters, so I improvised, using flower and heart shaped cutters and using my apple corer to make the hole in the middle. Not as pretty as the stars, but still very very good. Thanks for the tip about cutting out the center after putting the cookie on the cookie sheet; that was very helpful. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyoooootie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lee, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I have made this recipe the only thing I did different was add peanut butter to the dough, to make peanut butter and jelly stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brettnlexismom
Photo by manna0683
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Easy to make and delicious! I sifted some powdered sugar on top instead of the sprinkles. I also found that if you work in small batches to keep the dough really cold they are easier to work with. If you put the cut outs on a parchment paper lined pan an place the pan in the freezer for a few minutes before baking, the cookies will hold their shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manna0683

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watauga, Texas, USA
Photo by celestialcharms
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Yes, it is alot of work, but the results are impressive. It took me 2 batches of broken stars to take heed of a previous reviewers suggestion of using parchment paper. After that change, making the cookies was a breeze. A few of my stars were renegades and became slightly mis-shapen. To correct that, I made a pointsetta looking cookie by placing the top cookie slightly askewed from the bottom one and dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celestialcharms

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States