Christmas Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
A very similar recipe has been a holiday tradition in my family since at least the 1920's. The only difference is the use of Cane Syrup instead of the molasses. It has a milder molasses like taste and lets the spice come through on its own. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
i thought that the moleasses was way way over powering, but then agian maybe you would like it if you like moleasses tast. I don't but i know my grandma likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe that was easy to make. Instead of putting one teaspoon of each spice I put four teaspoons of all spice. Also I tryed a few with and with out icing and I definately think they need a simple Luke warm water and icing sugar icing make them perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Every year i try a few new cookie recipes, but it takes a really special cookie to get on my list of "regulars". This cookie made it not just for its wonderfully zingy spiciness but for its ability to stay chewy all through the season Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strasburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beach City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I wanted to try something different for my Christmas cookies. These sounded good and taste great. BUT they didn't firm up in the refrigerator and it took more like 5 1/2 cups of flour. And I agree with the person who said maybe it should be baking powder rather than baking soda. I tried thicker cooking them less....everywhich way just didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
i made these at Xmas time and they didn't really suit me. some of my tasters loved them but i thought the molassas was FAR too over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
These are great! My boyfriend loved them! Perhaps next time I'll use less molasses and see how it turns out because I felt that the taste was a bit too strong. After a few days it did taste better though.. These are very nice cookies! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Great taste! They don't bake very well though so I suggest making them a little thicker and leaving in the oven a couple of minutes longer. All in all they have an awesome taste that can't be resisted! I sprinkled some white sugar on top after baking for a little added sweetness, but they were fine without it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These are a tasty cookie. They use a ton of molasses, though! I think the only thing I will do different if I make them again is roll them out a lot thicker, and cook them less. They were a bit on the crispy side this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
great cookies! I had too make up most of it because i used maple syrup unstead of sugar but they turned out great! As for them being deflated, one cut them thicker and 2 let them sit for a few min before eating, these have amazing taste thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ghent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States