Christmas Seafood Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I used this as a base recipe and customized it quite a bit but got rave reviews at my last dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Try it served with puff pastry it's even better! Sometimes our local stores don't have the crab, you can substitute imitation and it still works. Do not however, substitute the lobster shrimp or scallops. Glad I found this, we had it done by an executive chef at a local dining establishment, and when he left, the recipe went with him! They only ran it as a special when he was working! He served in in layers over puff pasty pillows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I used 4 oz cream cheese instead of cheddar as one of the complaints was the cheddar overpowered the taste of the seafood. I also used seasoned bread crumbs on top and it made this seafood casserole more eye appealing and delicious. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
In response to OsuzyQ about the cheddar being too strong, I have a similar recipe that calls for Velveeta cheese instead of cheddar. It makes it much more velvety as the name implies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was great! A couple of different things, I used pepper Jack cheese slices instead and didn't have any lobster meat but it wasn't missed. Next time I make it, I plan to used breadcrumbs and try oysters and use oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was a VERY tasty dish. I added a little more seafood & cheese to it. It is pretty runny so I put it over pasta. DEFINITELY will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is a really wonderful recipe. You can switch around the seafood as much as you please. For those that are having problems with this being too soupy, it might be your seafood. Stores sometimes fill seafood with water, especially scallops. When cooked, the seafood releases the water. Make sure you dry off your seafood, or even let it drain for a few minutes on a paper towel. My friend gave me this advice and it has helped tremendously with my seafood recipes. If that doesn't work, you can always pour this over noodles, and no one will ever know! :) Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjscott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was delicious, I omitted the scallops and just used extra shrimp(not fond of scallops). Very good, and I will make again. In fact my son wants me to make it for the feast of the 7 fishes on Christmas Eve. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this for Christmas Eve. I like it because it was fast and easy to prepare - I made it in the afternoon and refrigerated it until we were ready to eat, then popped it into the oven for half an hour before we sat down. I had read other comments about this dish being too cheesy and overwhelming the delicate flavors of the seafood, so I cut back on the cheese just a bit, and we used frozen seafood to make it. We served this dish with a choice of a baked potatoe or rice and it went beautifully well with both. It will be a Christmas Eve tradition from now on with us. I am going to cut back on the liquids and try it in my crockpot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Linkletter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Easy way to thicken is to use potato flakes ( like in the box for making mashed potatoes ) they thicken and don't interfere with the flavour at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States