Christmas Seafood Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This was very good, it was a big hit with everyone. Would be much better served on pasta, because it never got thick enough to eat as a cassole. I had to cook it for about 1hr and then finally gave up on it ever getting thick. I also added about 1 additional cup of cheese. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This was a very yummy, but very rich recipe. I used it as an alternative to my other main course. I thought the dish was a bit soupy. Next time I make it, I will saute the vegatables in butter or oil then add the seafood coat with the butter in the pan and then add the flour to coat the vegatables and meat than add the milk and cheese. Perhaps it will be thicker and the flavor will blend better. This recipe also served more than 4. I would say, it served about 6-8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This is the best seafood casserole recipe I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I was absolutely prepared to love this recipe, but sadly it fell short. We had intended to make it for Christmas this year, but fortunately we previewed it beforehand, and decided not to make it. The taste was just fine, but the problem was that the cheese sauce somehow overpowered the taste of the wonderful (and very expensive) seafood to the point where our guests were unable to even tell that there was crab and lobster meat in it! This might be a lovely dish to make with less expensive seafood, but for what it costs to put this one together you at least want your guests to know that you've used the very best. Instead it comes across as if it is hiding less expensive or (horrors) immitation seafood. This would be a lovely sauce to make with firm white fish fillets. If you do decide to make it with scallops, remember that when scallops cook they release quite a lot of water, so make sure your sauce is VERY thick when you put it into the oven (do this by gradually adding the milk to the sauce, and leave much of it out!). Some parsely flakes might also add to the appeal of the presentation. Without it it does look rather like macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I tripled the seafood and doubled the other ingredients to serve 16 people. It was a very tasty dish to go along with our Christmas Eve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was delicious, I omitted the scallops and just used extra shrimp(not fond of scallops). Very good, and I will make again. In fact my son wants me to make it for the feast of the 7 fishes on Christmas Eve. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was a VERY tasty dish. I added a little more seafood & cheese to it. It is pretty runny so I put it over pasta. DEFINITELY will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This might be better to serve in individual baking dishes. Mine came out more like a sauce to spoon over noodles. I liked the flavor, and it was pretty easy. I did add some sliced, fresh mushrooms and 1/4 sherry to the vegetables. It didn't really 'brown' either, even after putting it under the broiler for awhile. Maybe a light bread crumb topping would be a good addition. My husband loved it. Maybe if the noodles were cooked in the dish also it would be more of a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Solution for thickening... This is how you make a roux or white sauce, but in reverse. Look up how to make a white sauce and replace it with the quoted below. "Heat the milk in a saucepan over medium heat, and mix in the flour and 1 1/2 teaspoons butter until well blended. Gradually blend the cheese into the mixture. Season with salt and pepper. "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is a really wonderful recipe. You can switch around the seafood as much as you please. For those that are having problems with this being too soupy, it might be your seafood. Stores sometimes fill seafood with water, especially scallops. When cooked, the seafood releases the water. Make sure you dry off your seafood, or even let it drain for a few minutes on a paper towel. My friend gave me this advice and it has helped tremendously with my seafood recipes. If that doesn't work, you can always pour this over noodles, and no one will ever know! :) Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjscott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States