Christmas Red Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These were AWESOME! Yes, they take time, but it's well worth it. I'm currently pregnant and craving cinnamon pickles. The only place I found to purchase any wants $12 a jar after shipping! Being a farmer's daughter, I always have access to fresh cucumbers in the summer. I will definitely make more of these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I make this recipe with zucchini and it's also amazing. They don't get soggy, but they are firm and the first time I saw them, I thought they were apples. The lady who made them sliced and cored them and canned them that way. They look really nice in a jar that way. Just make sure the zucchini aren't too fat to fit. If they are, then you have to cut them up. Great way to use up all that zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe has been in my family for years, we call them candied apple rings. They are very delicious not everbody believes they are cucumbers. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made these last week and it is a big hit so far. They were eatting them before I had them jarred! I tied a pretty bow around them and stuck a bow to the top and will be giving them out to friends and family for christmas. I will keep one for us at home and one to put out to eat on christmas! We will be making again. The only thing I will probally change is jarring it when its done cooking instead of it sitting overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Excellent!! Highly recommend these to everyone! Our family loves them and they will make perfect additions to gifts for the holidays!! Time consuming but definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My Mom used to make these so I decided to try. My husband thinks they are great. It does take time to make, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
These are awesome! Gave them away as Christmas gifts last year and now that the cucumbers in the garden are abundant people are calling to "request" them again this year! They do take some time....but they really are worth it! Has anyone tried this recipe using Ball Pickle Crisp granules yet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Moira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angcamper
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Just finished making our first batch of these yesterday. As someone else stated, they can be time consuming, but oh my goodness are they worth it! Yum, yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angcamper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I'm going to make these this summer, my grandmother made them, and they are worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
My Grandmother has been making these pickles for years. They are awesome. Couldn't stop eating them, and everyone who has tried them loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States