Christmas Red Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I found these at a farmer's market and HAD to find the recipe! WHO KNEW there were other kinds of lime pickles?! For those who said they can't find pickling lime, we've always gotten a big bag of builders lime from the hardware store or concrete company - same thing! Without the lime, you are not getting the full true flavor of these pickles! Anyway, these were good, but not quite the same as the ones I bought, so I reviewed some other websites. Others called for 10 cups of sugar, so I went there, and upped the red hot candies a little too, but kept this process as it was a little simpler than some. They came out JUST like the awesome ones I bought at the farmer's market. Good thing I found this recipe, 'cause I was running out of things to do with my crazy bumper crop of cucs this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
These just scream "merry Christmas"!!! I did have to make a few changes because I could not find any pickling lime in Ontario Canada. I had to skip soaking the pickles in the pickling lime, but went straight to the step of cooking the cucumbers in alum, vinegar, water and food colouring. I let the final sugar mixture cover the pickles, and for 3 days, I reboiled the syrup every day then added back to the cucumbers. I put the required amount of "pickle crisp" in bottom of each jar and processed it for 20 minutes. You have to keep in mind when eating them, they are a pickle, not candy, lol! This recipe is a keeper and hopefully a new family Christmas tradition! Thank you for the wonderfully, different kind of pickle! Please remember, steam burns when you lift the canning lid..ouch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
its wierd....but its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I found this recipe after my kids decided they no longer "liked" my dill pickles. I wasn't sure what to expect, but decided they were pretty enough to make. WOW, is the flavor good. They are not to sweet or spicy, and there's a nice touch of acidity to balance out the flavor. They remind me of a cup of spice tea, and the cukes are super crunchy too. I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
These are well worth the time it takes to make them. My dad really likes these. My in-laws have used a similar recipe for many years and I can't tell much difference. Both are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I had never heard of these, but friends of mine asked me to can them! Raving about how good they were! They are time consuming but well worth it! And I had plenty of cucumbers I needed to use up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey M Curl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Just like the ones I had years ago. I skipped a step or two. My cucumbers had to soak for a few days, waiting for my cinnamon red hots to arrive in the mail (as I couldn't find them anywhere!). I rinsed them daily then put them back in the fridge. Also, I may have sacrificed some goodness by not letting them sit overnight after adding the syrup, but it was late and I was getting tired. I just put them up and processed them right away. They're so tasty and I can't wait to share them with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PARK26
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Best to start these early in the morning since you have a 24 hour wait before the next step. Beautiful color and outstanding taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I have not made this yet but intend to. Our son in NC kept giving these he got from a lady who canned them out there. We thought they were apples too. Unfortunately she passed before he could get the recipe and this looks just like what she made. She would make mint ones also. Can't wait to make them. Thsnks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
My husband begged me to make these pickles after having some at a friend's house. Her recipe was essentially the same. We found that we really didn't need the alum after using the pickling lime. The pickles were plenty crisp without it. Aren't they pretty? Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States