Christmas Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
absolutley the bes prime rib i ever made or had!! i only made a 3lb one so i just took it out too room temp for and hr and i cooked it at the 450 for 30 min then i cooked it at 350 for about another half hr cqame out perfect! 145 degrees then let it rest the half hour i also used regular yellow mustard and added a splash extra horse raddish ty for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fitzpatrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This review is mostly just for the seasoning, which is really good. I accidentally left the oven at 450* for just over an hour. No matter; we just ate dinner an hour early! The roast was just barely overcooked after that mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Followed this recipe as much as I could, given my lack of ingredients. It was a hit and will become a new tradition. I used a 4 pnd loin which is all they had left at the butchers Christmas Eve, but still kept the same spice ratio. I also couldn't find any fresh thyme given my last minute shopping so I researched and found Rosemary to be pretty close and woks best with pork to achieve the same thyme flavor. After the initial high temp roast, I inserted an electric thermometer and checked periodically until it reached our desired temp and followed with aluminum tent. The family loved its tenderness. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I've never made prime rib, much less made prime rib for our family of ten for Christmas :) So, I made this exactly as directed from the original recipe and I wouldn't have changed a thing, it was PERFECT! Rave reviews from all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Made with a 7 rib -17 lb roast for Christmas to serve 16 ppl (there was also a spiral ham and sides) I tripled mustard and horseradish, kept thyme to single as specified in this recipe and doubled all other ingredients. Oven Seared at 425 for 25 minutes. Then low and slow for about 3.5 hours to achieve an internal temp of 120 (rose to 130 after 25 minutes resting). I was concerned when it started cooking - my whole house smelled like Thyme -this eventually subsided and the meat was very nicely flavored. (i.e. not too much Thyme) I did place lots of carrots, celery and onions in the bottom of the pan and covered the vegetables in beef stock (but did not have the meat submerged in it) and this made for lots of tasty au jus which I did not thicken with cornstarch -just served with the meat. I did not attempt the "home dry age" as this process can be very particular and I do not consider my home fridge the right equipment for this process after working for a butcher and seeing this process and the controls applied there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iamjekob
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this for Christmas dinner & it was SUPERB! Great recipe! I think this will be a New Christmas tradition! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this today and thought to myself...kind of crazy for me to try a new recipe on Christmas day.....but took a shot at it. I bought a 5.30 pound prime rib roast at Costco. $16.89 a pound....worth every penny. It was literally a "Prime" beef -- top shelf for Costco standard. Recipe is very easy to follow. I didnt have any garlic powder and just added a little minced garlic in its place. Everyone loved dinner. It was as good as any 5 star restaurant. Amazing taste! I couldn't be happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan McAllister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
couldn't find a small amount of Kosher salt so I use Seasoning salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Wonderful recipe, thanks for Sharing. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States