Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Yum! Love these cookies. So buttery and delicious. I made three layers Red Yellow and Green. I put the dough on wax paper with wax paper on top it rolls out great. Plus you don't dirty the rolling pin :) After rolling the layers on wax paper it is just a matter of flipping the next layer on to the first. Which is very scary :) I think because of my 3 layers I got less cookies than stated. I got about 36 cookies out of the batch. Will make again (Probably real soon since the family has already ate most of these and they were supposed to be for Christmas.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I thought these cookies were amazing! and they're very easy to play around with and make creations/colors for any occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShouldBeABlondie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is my recipe, yes, it is a time-consuming one, but well worth it. I split it over 2 days, make the dough one day and bake the next. As for the other baker's difficulty in the stickiness of the dough, I have never had that problem. Add more flour to the dough if it sticks as it should roll out like a dense pie dough. Also, AR said to add one drop of food colouring (not what I had submitted), you need half a bottle to get the desired shades of vibrant green and red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
These are absolutely delicious! My son and I decided to make them Halloween cookies so we made them black and orange but I will be making these for Christmas as well. Thanks for sharing. I followed the recipe to a "T" and they are great :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I like to mess with the flavors according to the time of the year. During Christmas I like to do a Chocolate and Peppermint mix. Valentine's Day I like to do a Chocolate and Strawberry. You get the idea. Just use what flavoring you like for the "White" side of it or do a vanilla and an orange.....that is a orange cream twist. oh lala.......Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nikkal
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I adore these beautiful cookies. I had a bit of a time first time around, due to the butter I used I think. But now They are awesome. I turned em into what looks like tiny little christmas presents.I cannot wait to use Easter colors, for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I noticed that some people had isues rolling out the doe and placing them on top of each other after the food coloring. Well I found that if you just role out the doe onto wax paper and take the edges of the paper and place the roled out doe on top of each other than it will work. And also use the wax paper on the very bottom to roll up the doe. It save an extra day of refrigderating! and a lot less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These are the choice of my annual Christmas cookie party. I've had alot of fun with these. They are wonderful.The dough is easy to work with and delicious. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very festive cookies! I was a little stressed while making the dough. You definitely need to have an extra pair of hands around to help move the green dough on top of the red. But it was well worth it! They weren't too sweet either which is good for my family, since we have a few with diabetes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I had a tough time with the dough in the beginning - probably between baking with a four year-old and working in a very warm kitchen, my first half batch of red and white just wasn't meant to be...so when I went to do the green ones, I chilled the dough before rolling it out, rolled each color out on waxed paper, which made assembly a snap, then chilled the log for maybe 4 hours...the result was very easy to work with! The cookies came out beautiful and taste great! I had a few scraps of dough from cutting and I rolled them into balls, dipped in sugar and baked as little round "marble cookies". If I ever have a problem with the dough again, I'll just do that, but I think with the extra chill time this recipe is a total winner! Thanks Gitano! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States