Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
The dough is a little hard to work with, too sticky. Too much work for someone like me. I only gave it 3 stars because it does make an attractive cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I am torn with these cookies, they are cute and seem easy enough. The dough was sticky so I used more flour, added my food colouring, used the gels to get the desired colour as they work better then the liquid. But then they were too dry and cracked when I tried to roll them into a log. I have to do some tweaking because clearly there is something amiss here. They taste like sugar cookies. Next time I am going to add the food colouring while in the mixer, and use almond extract instead of vanilla. As for the stickiness vs. dry I am not sure how I am going to tackle this one. I might cut the butter with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
They taste great, but time consuming if you want to get the perfect swirl. Since we were craving something sweet I made these within an hour, orange and purple, but of course they got smooshed while cutting b/c I cut out the refrigeration time. We really needed sugar. LOL. They ended up looking that pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I am pinwheel cookie challenged. So I thought I could roll these like my pie crusts. After colouring the dough, (I cheated and used some kool aid to get the colors darker, though they don't show up dark in the picture) I rolled the dough out on flexible cutting boards. I could easily set the colours on top or each other to adjust size. I used a dough scraper to even off the edges and make square corners. Then I flipped the dough onto the other colour and peeled back the board, did this 2 times. I used the bottom cutting board to aid with rolling, similar to using a tea towel to roll a jelly roll. Wrapped in waxed paper and left to cool. Delicious cookies and will be fun to play with the colours according to the season. Next time I will leave the dough in the cutting board and wrap with elastic bands. This way the dough will not get a flat bottom as it cools. Thanks for the recipe Gitano-it's making the Christmas goodie list in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallory Maloney
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
The first time I made these, ((For Halloween of 2008, in orange and black,)) They turned out absolutely horrible looking, as I'm not sure I followed the recipe exactly, haha. The second time around, though, ((For Christmas of 2009, in red and green,)) I followed the recipe extremely carefully, and guess what ...? They turned out absolutely brilliantly, both taste and looks wise! The only downside is that they're not the type of cookies that you can whip up in a single night --- They definitely take a lot of planning ahead and preparation beforehand. Other than that, though, I love 'em and I can't wait to make them again! I'm thinking maybe separating the dough into two or three segments and tinting each segment a pastel shade for Easter! ^_~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Had a little trouble rolling them, but I have never dont that before. They turned out like sugar cookie. I think I will add something for some flavor next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I saw the picture and it brought back memories of grade school 35 years ago when a classmate's mother would send candy cane cookies in these colors to school. She made the dough and fashioned them into 'ropes' which she then twisted together and made into the shape of a candy cane. We LOVED those cookies, and I was just reminding my daughter the other day of Mary's candy cane cookies. I'm going to make them and keep this recipe. Thanks so much for the memories!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I'm just getting into cooking and baking, and this was my first time making pinwheel cookies. Thankfully, the recipe was easy to follow and the cookies turned out soft and delicious! I was a bit worried that the batter was too runny/watery, and I had some difficulty when rolling it out. However, I followed some tips from other reviewers and refrigerated the rolled doughs for about 8-10 minutes, and everything was good to go! Awesome recipe; I'll definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmina, Central, Ghana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I didn't have any issues with this recipe at all. I mixed the dough, colored the dough, then refrigerated it for an hour before rolling it out. I was able to place one colored dough on top of the other without the need of parchment or wax paper to transfer it. I had to bake the cookies longer than 5-6 minutes. I believe I baked them between 10-13 minutes because they were much too doughy otherwise. This is a light tasting cookie, which I love! Fantastic recipe which I will use again! Thanks Gitano!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Yum! Love these cookies. So buttery and delicious. I made three layers Red Yellow and Green. I put the dough on wax paper with wax paper on top it rolls out great. Plus you don't dirty the rolling pin :) After rolling the layers on wax paper it is just a matter of flipping the next layer on to the first. Which is very scary :) I think because of my 3 layers I got less cookies than stated. I got about 36 cookies out of the batch. Will make again (Probably real soon since the family has already ate most of these and they were supposed to be for Christmas.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States