Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Great recipe! The only thing that i did was to split the recipe in half before I made the dough. Then I added the food coloring( i used wilson gel) to the sugar mixture before i added the flour. This helps get a darker color and keeps the dough from being over mixed. Keeps the cookies light, soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Fabulous, tasty, and attractive. I followed the directions with one exception. After mixing the dough, I divided it into 3 portions and added red color to one portion and green to another and left the third portion plain. Instead of rolling the dough immediately, I chilled each portion overnight, then rolled and rechilled, then sliced. I had no trouble with sticky dough this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
The dough is a little hard to work with, too sticky. Too much work for someone like me. I only gave it 3 stars because it does make an attractive cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I am torn with these cookies, they are cute and seem easy enough. The dough was sticky so I used more flour, added my food colouring, used the gels to get the desired colour as they work better then the liquid. But then they were too dry and cracked when I tried to roll them into a log. I have to do some tweaking because clearly there is something amiss here. They taste like sugar cookies. Next time I am going to add the food colouring while in the mixer, and use almond extract instead of vanilla. As for the stickiness vs. dry I am not sure how I am going to tackle this one. I might cut the butter with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
They taste great, but time consuming if you want to get the perfect swirl. Since we were craving something sweet I made these within an hour, orange and purple, but of course they got smooshed while cutting b/c I cut out the refrigeration time. We really needed sugar. LOL. They ended up looking that pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I am pinwheel cookie challenged. So I thought I could roll these like my pie crusts. After colouring the dough, (I cheated and used some kool aid to get the colors darker, though they don't show up dark in the picture) I rolled the dough out on flexible cutting boards. I could easily set the colours on top or each other to adjust size. I used a dough scraper to even off the edges and make square corners. Then I flipped the dough onto the other colour and peeled back the board, did this 2 times. I used the bottom cutting board to aid with rolling, similar to using a tea towel to roll a jelly roll. Wrapped in waxed paper and left to cool. Delicious cookies and will be fun to play with the colours according to the season. Next time I will leave the dough in the cutting board and wrap with elastic bands. This way the dough will not get a flat bottom as it cools. Thanks for the recipe Gitano-it's making the Christmas goodie list in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mm!
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
The first time I made these, ((For Halloween of 2008, in orange and black,)) They turned out absolutely horrible looking, as I'm not sure I followed the recipe exactly, haha. The second time around, though, ((For Christmas of 2009, in red and green,)) I followed the recipe extremely carefully, and guess what ...? They turned out absolutely brilliantly, both taste and looks wise! The only downside is that they're not the type of cookies that you can whip up in a single night --- They definitely take a lot of planning ahead and preparation beforehand. Other than that, though, I love 'em and I can't wait to make them again! I'm thinking maybe separating the dough into two or three segments and tinting each segment a pastel shade for Easter! ^_~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Had a little trouble rolling them, but I have never dont that before. They turned out like sugar cookie. I think I will add something for some flavor next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I saw the picture and it brought back memories of grade school 35 years ago when a classmate's mother would send candy cane cookies in these colors to school. She made the dough and fashioned them into 'ropes' which she then twisted together and made into the shape of a candy cane. We LOVED those cookies, and I was just reminding my daughter the other day of Mary's candy cane cookies. I'm going to make them and keep this recipe. Thanks so much for the memories!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I'm just getting into cooking and baking, and this was my first time making pinwheel cookies. Thankfully, the recipe was easy to follow and the cookies turned out soft and delicious! I was a bit worried that the batter was too runny/watery, and I had some difficulty when rolling it out. However, I followed some tips from other reviewers and refrigerated the rolled doughs for about 8-10 minutes, and everything was good to go! Awesome recipe; I'll definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmina, Central, Ghana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States