Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was a really easy recipe to follow. My advice to get the swirls to roll easy is thus: Place waxed paper over a large cutting board. Spread 1 color dough over the waxed paper evenly. Place another sheet of waxed paper on top, and use another cutting board or something with a dull edge to smooth the dough. Try to fill in airgaps between the dough and the paper. Do this with all your dough, making sure you have 2 equal sized sheets of both colors per roll. Chill. Remove waxed paper from both sides of 1 color and top of the other. Place 1 dough on top of the other. allow to warm. Then roll with bottom sheet of paper, squeezing occasionally to press the doughs together. Chill again, then slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is a pretty cookie. However, refriderating the dough before rolling would ensure a perfect round pinwheel. As for taste, I tasted a mildly sweet flour dough. Hugely disappointing after all the time spent. I did not serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandye Simper
Photo by Honey Bee
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Wonderful Christmas cookies. They basically tasted like a sort of sugar/shortbread cookie, they go great whit a nice warm drink, or just on their own. I like you can go crazy with different colors. I will say, that the recipe doesn't really specify on rolling the dough with use of any tools. I should have gone with my instinct and put a floured towel or wax paper under the dough for rolling to help me roll it up, because I didn't and had some issues with it falling and breaking, thus my "spirals" were a bit abstract looking but still pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Love these cookies!! Very easy to make, and everyone loves them! They are beautiful and look so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I just had to try these but I really worried most about making these more than any others I planned to make - but they came out great, I was thrilled!! and I think they're the tastiest of all that I made Saturday - I love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Cookies taste great! However rolling them up into the pinwheel was more effort that I was prepared for. I suggest chilling doughs after adding the food colour and rolling the doughs out on parchment paper, because I had a hard time getting it off the counter! But maybe that's my own naiveness lol. I also suggest rolling thinner than the recipe calls for, I didn't get enough of the swirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made this cookie for a cookie ex-change, so I made 4 batches across three days and tweaked it a little each time. Findings: 1st batch, I made it exactly as called for in the recipe. I tried to make red and white. Dough was sticky and because of the brown sugar the white was actually tan. 2nd batch – I ditched the brown sugar for white, used only egg whites. White was white this time, Green looked brighter as well. I couldn’t tell when the cookies were actually done before they turned brown on the edges and then it was too late. They didn’t look as pretty with brown edges. Batches 3 & 4 - 1. No brown sugar – use white 2. No egg yolks. 3. One batch - Green / One batch Red. Added food color before flour. 4. Refrigerated the dough before rolling it out. 5. Divide each color in to three equal balls of dough 6. Rolled out dough between pieces of wax paper. 7. Reshaped the dough while rolling so I got 8” squares. Did this by rolling out the dough in to a round shape, drawing the largest square possible on the rolled out down. Folding the rounded edges back into the dough squares and re-rolling. 8. Laid the two squares of rolled out colored dough on top of each other and rolled to make the spirals. Refrigerated as directed. (I only did 4 hours). 9. Sliced dough to ¼” thick or 5 mm. for cookies. 10. Cooked only 7 minutes.. did not rely on visual queue of doneness. Just took them out at seven minutes. Does not yield 72 - more like 48
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
it was really good but had to add a little milk to make it more of a dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These cookies are OK. I don't really like them though. It was strange working with the dough that much. I don't think I will be making these again. I don't know how the ones in the pictures turned out that well, but ours were aesthetically challenged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
They turned out pretty good :)all tho we had to keep them in longer then it said to get them done. but over all they were yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States