Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I found that theses cookies were quite simple to make, but needed a little more sugar as they were a bit bland. I also cut out the extra 1/3 cup of butter and found that they came out fine without it. The cookies did bake beautifully though, but i had to put some royal icing glaze on them to make up fo the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Good recipe! I agree: use 1.5 cups white sugar, no brown. And freezing for one hour rather than chilling for 8 hours is so much faster and JUST as effective. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I just finished making a batch of these. I followed the recipe exactly, I only made mine plain and chocolate swirls. I made the chocolate by adding cocoa powder to the other half. It was a little difficult to roll out the dough, I would suggest chilling it for a while first. Otherwise they turned out great. I think they may taste a little better tomorrow, right now they are a little plain and bland tasting. A good cookie with coffee...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Just made the chocolate version and it was wonderful! I laid off the brown sugar a bit though and rolled the log in red sugar (like Maurice Lenell's) which are my kids favorite! Dough was very soft and pliable to roll. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I had a lot of trouble with this dough as it kept cracking and crumbling when I went to roll it. Mine didn't turn out nearly as pretty as some of the pictures and they aren't really delicious cookies. Not bad, just not quite worth the struggle. I think the appeal is in how pretty they are supposed to be to look at but as I say, mine weren't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Time consuming as others said, but didn't find it was worth it. Pretty plain and almost unflavored cookies (and I did follow the recipe exactly as written).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I needed a quick and easy recipe to make a LOT of cookies for an annual cookie exchange. These were perfect. Note, however, that you'll need much more food colouring than listed to get a vibrantly-coloured cookie like what's shown in the photo. Also, to keep my cookie-log from settling flat as it chilled, I slit an empty wrapping paper tube lengthwise, wrapped my dough in parchment, and slid it into the tube. Voila: nice round cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
the dough was sticky and didn't roll well and the cookies tasted horrible! I wont try this recipe again. I plan on putting frosting on them so the kids will eat them, but that sorta defeats the purpose of making a pinwheel cookie. The baking time was also off, I watched them and took them out as they got set, which was over 8 minutes. I will keep looking for a good pinwheel recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Donna
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Thanks for all the great ideas. The cookies look like so much fun, but I'm a big procrastinator so I opened a box of sugar cookie mix and had them done in a few hours. Followed directions on box, split dough & added red/green food coloring. Chilled dough for 5 mins, layed out 20"+ wax paper and placed the red dough in center, another wax paper on top to roll it out. I rolled the dough out nice and thin(rectangular shape), lift wax paper+dough placed on large cutting board to chill until second layer was ready to work with. Roll out green dough same way. I liked the red layer on the outside so i put that layer on the bottom, peeled off top sheet of wax paper, then side by side pulled off top layer of green wax paper. Holding bottom wax paper quickly but gently flipped the green layer on top of the red layer(trim edges if necessary. Gently press the two doughs together. Remove the 2nd green wax paper, which is now on top from flipping. Roll the long side of the rectangle like a sushi roll. Start the roll by lifting up the long side to start the roll, The bottom wax paper should still be under both layers, holding both corners lift the wax paper to help roll the log. As you move down the wax paper the dough should fall off as you start rolling. Roll your log back onto the wax paper, and then wrap with a towel & freeze for an hour. When slicing, remove towel, wax & use are sharp knife and do it quick before the dough starts getting too soft. Reshape and bake 375 for 9 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Yum! I have to say they surprised me a little. I figured they'd be pretty good; you know, average plain Christmas cookie. Well they were plain, but in a really good way. I'd tasted the unbaked dough and it was nothing special, so the delicious buttery taste of the baked cookies surprised me :) As for the method, it worked out well for me. The dough came together easily and it wasn't too sticky. It rolled out pretty nicely (and I'm kind of rolling challenged!). The only part where it worked out less than perfect for me was rolling it up in the log. The bottom layer cracked and started falling apart; I think maybe I rolled it too thin. It patched together well enough and the finished product looked ok, so no big deal. I made only half a recipe (and only got 20 cookies), I might have to make more! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States