Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These were pretty good and my kids really loved them. My only issue was that the recipe tells you to roll the dough out and place one color on top of the other after adding the food coloring, but there was no way that was going to happen, the dough was far too sticky. I had to refridgerate the dough overnight and then roll them out and put them together. Then I had to return them to the refridgerator again overnight to get a clean slice and nice looking cookie. This whole process was slightly time consuming, but otherwise they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is my recipe, yes, it is a time-consuming one, but well worth it. I split it over 2 days, make the dough one day and bake the next. As for the other baker's difficulty in the stickiness of the dough, I have never had that problem. Add more flour to the dough if it sticks as it should roll out like a dense pie dough. Also, AR said to add one drop of food colouring (not what I had submitted), you need half a bottle to get the desired shades of vibrant green and red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I thought these cookies were amazing! and they're very easy to play around with and make creations/colors for any occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShouldBeABlondie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
These are absolutely delicious! My son and I decided to make them Halloween cookies so we made them black and orange but I will be making these for Christmas as well. Thanks for sharing. I followed the recipe to a "T" and they are great :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I used Wiltons concentrated paste for these cookies in the Halloween theme. As you can see from my pic, mine didn't turn out that well. Not as pretty as the other posted pictures. I found the dough sticky, I added some more flour as mentioned and I refrigerated it over night, but it softened quickly. The cookies seem to taste better, more buttery the next day. I love the idea of this pinwheel cookie ( especially for halloween)and the taste is pretty good. My daughter loved them and her friends from school really enjoyed them as well. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
did not like this at all. the dough was to crumbly and did not stick together well. didn't taste that good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I made this the other day and it didn't turn out the way I wanted :( I followed the recipe exactly, but in the end my dough ended up very crumbly and ended up cutting them into shapes instead.. I don't know where I went wrong x.x" Will try making it again next time, maybe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeniseY
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made these for Halloween but had trouble with the dough. I am thinking that maybe the butter wasn't soft enough. Everyone really liked them though. .. Update 2/1/09 just put the dough into the freezer so I can make the cookies sooner. Wow, what a difference from the first time I made them. I let the butter get really soft and it made all of the difference in rolling the dough. The dough was nice and soft and rolled very easy. I rolled each color on parchment paper and then put the one color on top of the other color and rolled. Very easy and I am sure will taste just as good as they did the last time I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I like to mess with the flavors according to the time of the year. During Christmas I like to do a Chocolate and Peppermint mix. Valentine's Day I like to do a Chocolate and Strawberry. You get the idea. Just use what flavoring you like for the "White" side of it or do a vanilla and an orange.....that is a orange cream twist. oh lala.......Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nikkal
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I adore these beautiful cookies. I had a bit of a time first time around, due to the butter I used I think. But now They are awesome. I turned em into what looks like tiny little christmas presents.I cannot wait to use Easter colors, for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States