Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Mama Donna
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Thanks for all the great ideas. The cookies look like so much fun, but I'm a big procrastinator so I opened a box of sugar cookie mix and had them done in a few hours. Followed directions on box, split dough & added red/green food coloring. Chilled dough for 5 mins, layed out 20"+ wax paper and placed the red dough in center, another wax paper on top to roll it out. I rolled the dough out nice and thin(rectangular shape), lift wax paper+dough placed on large cutting board to chill until second layer was ready to work with. Roll out green dough same way. I liked the red layer on the outside so i put that layer on the bottom, peeled off top sheet of wax paper, then side by side pulled off top layer of green wax paper. Holding bottom wax paper quickly but gently flipped the green layer on top of the red layer(trim edges if necessary. Gently press the two doughs together. Remove the 2nd green wax paper, which is now on top from flipping. Roll the long side of the rectangle like a sushi roll. Start the roll by lifting up the long side to start the roll, The bottom wax paper should still be under both layers, holding both corners lift the wax paper to help roll the log. As you move down the wax paper the dough should fall off as you start rolling. Roll your log back onto the wax paper, and then wrap with a towel & freeze for an hour. When slicing, remove towel, wax & use are sharp knife and do it quick before the dough starts getting too soft. Reshape and bake 375 for 9 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Yum! I have to say they surprised me a little. I figured they'd be pretty good; you know, average plain Christmas cookie. Well they were plain, but in a really good way. I'd tasted the unbaked dough and it was nothing special, so the delicious buttery taste of the baked cookies surprised me :) As for the method, it worked out well for me. The dough came together easily and it wasn't too sticky. It rolled out pretty nicely (and I'm kind of rolling challenged!). The only part where it worked out less than perfect for me was rolling it up in the log. The bottom layer cracked and started falling apart; I think maybe I rolled it too thin. It patched together well enough and the finished product looked ok, so no big deal. I made only half a recipe (and only got 20 cookies), I might have to make more! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Yum they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Everything about these were perfect! I made two batches and added some unsweetened cocoa powder (in lieu of flour) to the one batch I eventually colored red. It made everything come together! I made soooooooooo many cookies and these were my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltkdvmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
These were fun! I made them for my girls cheerleading team. I used gel food coloring in blue. I piped some blue tinted buttercream on the blue cookie and sprinkled with blue sanding sugar. I let them dry completely then I piped a generous amount of white buttercream on the white cookie portion to fill in and dipped in white sanding sugar. It had a nice raised, 3D effect. I did add a tablespoon of dry, double strength vanilla extract for a stronger flavor. The cookies were a big hit with the girls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Best cookie I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
difficult to get the perfect pinwheel shape, and it's not the most delicious cookie but it looks neat that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by konstantine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These cookies are delicious, but VERY HARD WORK!!!! My advice is to skip the pinwheel part and enjoy this recipe as tasty little butter cookies. I had to: 1) make the dough a day ahead; 2) separate each color into three balls and refrigerate; 3) bring the balls out to warm for a few minutes, then roll out btw sheets of wax paper to very thin layers; 4) pop the layers back into the fridge for about 30 minutes; 5) take them back out and assemble the layers and use the rolling pin on them to get good adhesion; 6) put the flat layers back in the fridge for 30 minutes so they won't come apart or stick too much when rolling; 7) take them back out of the fridge and roll them into logs; 8) put the wax paper wrapped logs in the freezer for 30 minutes to an hour so they won't smush when slicing; 9) take them out, slice the logs into very thin cookies and bake on parchment. (!!!) I had to bake mine for about 7 minutes, 5 minutes were very underdone. Do a test batch of about 4 cookies to find the right time for your oven; don't waste a whole dozen like I did! As I said, these are delicious cookies! But unless you have hours and hours to spend on ONE recipe, roll these babies out and use them as cutouts, or even roll 1 inch balls and flatten with the bottom of a mug. Life will be much easier this way! ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonroeMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
The cookies tasted Great! But rolling it into a swirl was tricky, The dough kept cracking and crumbling :'( This recipe was good i guess :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
made red and green cookies today for christmas. only thing I did was refrigerate dough after I rolled it out and before rolling it together and then after I rolled the colors together I froze it for awhile before cutting. definetely use wax paper with these they get very sticky when they warm up. will make again when I have more time. They tasted good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States