Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
CHANGES I MADE: 1= 1/4 tsp almond extract 2= extra 1/4 cup of flower 3= used bosche dough hook to add color evenly 4= rolled dough between two sheets of parchment paper to make for easy layering 5= used my freezer instead of fridge for chilling and reduced my time to 2hours. 6= I made a double batch and left it in the freezer for the next bake sale my kids come home asking for cookies for at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
These were just ok for me!Nothing special in taste! They did look pretty I think next Christmas ill search for another similiar recipe I doubt ill try these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by LovesBoma
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was such a pretty cookie!! I thought I'd have to try the recipe more than once to master the swirly pinwheel design, but it was beautiful the first time. I think next time I will roll out each dough section (the red and green for me) and then try to cut them to equal rectangular shapes, because my log was a bit uneven, so I had some small cookies and some bigger ones. I used parchment paper, and actually froze the dough for an hour or two instead of refrigerating for many hours. It ended up working fine after I let the dough thaw for 20 minutes. I gave only four stars because as appealing as these cookies are to look at, the taste was a bit too buttery for my liking. Thank you for a pretty addition to christmas cookie plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I haven't tried it yet, but I plan to take the advise given by many who have walked this path before me. I WILL master the pinwheel! Picture will follow, even if it is a "fail" because we can all use a laugh now and then! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I made this recipe twice with different colours/patterns. Easy to work with and very tasty! Couldn't ask for more than that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Tasted great, looked ok, but was a bit tricky to roll, despite following the tips on the reviews section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinmccartan
Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These cookies are amazing. I made some to take to work and no one belived me that they were home made!!! One thing that I have done is up the amount of Vanilla used. Just seems to work better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I found that theses cookies were quite simple to make, but needed a little more sugar as they were a bit bland. I also cut out the extra 1/3 cup of butter and found that they came out fine without it. The cookies did bake beautifully though, but i had to put some royal icing glaze on them to make up fo the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Good recipe! I agree: use 1.5 cups white sugar, no brown. And freezing for one hour rather than chilling for 8 hours is so much faster and JUST as effective. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I just finished making a batch of these. I followed the recipe exactly, I only made mine plain and chocolate swirls. I made the chocolate by adding cocoa powder to the other half. It was a little difficult to roll out the dough, I would suggest chilling it for a while first. Otherwise they turned out great. I think they may taste a little better tomorrow, right now they are a little plain and bland tasting. A good cookie with coffee...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States