Christmas Pastels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2000
"Yummmm!", Said my husband. "Oooo!...And they get Yummier, as you eat them!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
The taste of these cookies is surprising! Really delicious. I made them for my daughter's class in their school colors using grape and lemon jello. The kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
I used Cherry Jell-O and sprinkled with multi-colored Betty Crocker Party Sugar instead. I got lots of requests for the recipe at work. They weren't too sweet, a little salty (which I like)and the cherry flavor jell-o added a familar taste to the cookies, but people could not guess what it was. Definately will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Some of the coolest Christmas cookies ever! I usually make one batch of strawberry or raspberry and one of lime, so you have red and green! Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
These are pretty good. Definitely 4star for easiness and speed. Flavor 3 1/2 to 4star. These are cookies with kid appeal and would be sweet in a variety of colors. I made red and green for christmas and they will look cute with the other cookies I am serving. I think the flavor would be better if you added in some butter in place of some of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Very simple recipe. Used Splenda instead of sugar and made with strawberry jello. Decorated them for Christmas. My eldest said he could taste the salt but I like a cookie that is not too sweet and it must not have bothered him by the amount he ate. Youngest went nuts over them. If I would have had time, I would have made a batch with Lime jello which would have been very pretty next to the strawberry. Oh well, next time. _____________________________________ 12/19 Just wanted to add a note. We enjoyed these fresh from the oven the day they were made but nobody would eat them after a day or two of them sitting. The jello taste was so strong and fake tasting that they did not go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
4 stars for easiness and kid-friendly recipe, 3 stars for taste. I will make these again for a kid audience, but have better recipes for adults palettes. I substituted butter for the shortening, and it worked well. Used strawberry jello this time. Like another reviewer, I would like to make more colors when I have more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
ade these for christmas..used a easuring sppon to place on cookie sheet and they baked perfect bite size cookies! Will make every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is my recipe, and I want to mention a few things I forgot when I submitted it. DON"T use sugar free gelatin! It will totally change the taste of the cookies, the same for using most sugar substitutes for the sugar in the recipe. Keep different flavors of cookies in different storage bags until ready to put them on a plate or whatever to serve, the flavors will mingle and make some interesting tasting cookies. Put them in an airtight container as soon as cool, or they will become quite crisp (unless you like crisp cookies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMOM1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States