Christmas Pastels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
They tasted great! The edges were a little cracked because I added an ingredient at the wrong time. Nonetheless, the taste is all that matters and the taste could only be described as one thing: DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdgirl709

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I was looking for an easy cookie recipe that was sort of festive and this seemed to fit the bill. I followed the recipe exactly as stated and the cookies came out quite bland. Also, I expected them to naturally flatten a bit while cooking but they didn't. So, when it says flatten the cookies, it REALLY means flatten them. I'm not sure how to make these cookies less bland. Perhaps add more sugar or even some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These were not bad. They look pretty because of the colour, but I used cherry Jello, and it had a tiny bit of a sour aftertaste. I'm thinking lemon or strawberry might be the ideal flavour for these?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
These didn't really turn out when i put them in. When I tried to get them out with my spatula, they just turned into gel like things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Same as the old jello cookie recipe, only they called for butter. Other than that, exactly the same. Memory serves it was on the old Jell-o box from the 60's or so. Still a favorite in my house. I make them for snacks for the kids. My mom made them for me. Strawberry is still the fav. here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Wow! I made these as a Christmas gift for our neighbors and they are still raving about them! I used a really chunky sugar (Zulka brand) and drew designs like snowflakes and snowmen on them with simple powdered sugar frosting. So simple, and such a big hit - we'll be making these again in the future... and again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ewok Boogie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Honda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is my recipe, and I want to mention a few things I forgot when I submitted it. DON"T use sugar free gelatin! It will totally change the taste of the cookies, the same for using most sugar substitutes for the sugar in the recipe. Keep different flavors of cookies in different storage bags until ready to put them on a plate or whatever to serve, the flavors will mingle and make some interesting tasting cookies. Put them in an airtight container as soon as cool, or they will become quite crisp (unless you like crisp cookies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMOM1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
ade these for christmas..used a easuring sppon to place on cookie sheet and they baked perfect bite size cookies! Will make every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
4 stars for easiness and kid-friendly recipe, 3 stars for taste. I will make these again for a kid audience, but have better recipes for adults palettes. I substituted butter for the shortening, and it worked well. Used strawberry jello this time. Like another reviewer, I would like to make more colors when I have more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States