Christmas Morning Wife Saver (Breakfast Casserole) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This indeed WAS a wife saver Christmas morning! Easy to throw together the night before. I DID omit the peppers from it only because I'm the only person in the house who likes them. The whole family liked it a lot. Now that I've made it I can see where it could be very easy to play around with it using different meats and such if one were wanting to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I love this my great aunt always makes this!! Instead of the back bacon we use ham, and it so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I just made this for breakfast! I was looking for a Christmas Breakfast Casserole and decided to try this. It was delicious! The entire family loved it. I also added Chicken Sausage to the Canadian bacon and it turned out great. I put all of the veggies, seasonings, eggs, butter and milk in a bowl and beat it all together, poured it over the bread, cheese and meats. I didn't have corn flakes so I used Kix instead. LOL. very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This recipe lends itself to customizing. I liked the ratio of egg/milk custard mixture to bread. I used cubed ham and grated cheddar instead of sliced and I reduced the worcestershire sauce to 1/2 tsp. When I make this again, I would omit the salt. For my taste the ham added enough salt. I really liked the addition of the onion and peppers for flavor and I enjoyed the crunchy topping of corn flakes. I did reduce the butter, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Christmas tradition in our house for years! Cannot wait to make it this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Excellent & simple make ahead breakfast casserole. I had no cornflakes or green pepper so I used panko crumbs and upped the red pepper and it was still yummy. Will def make again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe and I have made it frequently in years past for Christmas and for brunches at work. Try using ham and I have had great comments when using herb and spice Havarti cheese. Pimento is another "red" option for festive color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Each and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I think this is a Canadian classic, my family has made it for years. Just a little prep and you're off to the races in the morning. I hadn't tried it in a long time, but made it again recently and forgot how good it was! Good for camping too. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have to say after trying other breakfast casseroles, this was by far the best, in my opinion. The only substitutions I made were regular bacon for the Canadian bacon and 2 cups shredded cheese for the sliced, as that was what I had. I was skeptical of the corn flakes on top, but that addition made it so delicious. This has become my go to for holiday brunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States