Christmas Morning Wife Saver (Breakfast Casserole) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Christmas tradition in our house for years! Cannot wait to make it this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This indeed WAS a wife saver Christmas morning! Easy to throw together the night before. I DID omit the peppers from it only because I'm the only person in the house who likes them. The whole family liked it a lot. Now that I've made it I can see where it could be very easy to play around with it using different meats and such if one were wanting to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I love this my great aunt always makes this!! Instead of the back bacon we use ham, and it so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This recipe lends itself to customizing. I liked the ratio of egg/milk custard mixture to bread. I used cubed ham and grated cheddar instead of sliced and I reduced the worcestershire sauce to 1/2 tsp. When I make this again, I would omit the salt. For my taste the ham added enough salt. I really liked the addition of the onion and peppers for flavor and I enjoyed the crunchy topping of corn flakes. I did reduce the butter, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I just made this for breakfast! I was looking for a Christmas Breakfast Casserole and decided to try this. It was delicious! The entire family loved it. I also added Chicken Sausage to the Canadian bacon and it turned out great. I put all of the veggies, seasonings, eggs, butter and milk in a bowl and beat it all together, poured it over the bread, cheese and meats. I didn't have corn flakes so I used Kix instead. LOL. very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was just OK in my view. Although I baked it the full time it had an overly mushy and soft texture like it wasn't quite set. Although after sitting for a while and later being refrigerated and reheated, that subsided. The flavor was a bit odd too. I'm not sure if was the mustard or what but it wasn't what I was expecting. Note -- this dish puffs up enormously while baking so make sure you leave plenty of room between it and the upper over rack. Mine actually got so huge while baking that some of it actually spilled over into the oven and caused some burning & smoking in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe and I have made it frequently in years past for Christmas and for brunches at work. Try using ham and I have had great comments when using herb and spice Havarti cheese. Pimento is another "red" option for festive color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Excellent & simple make ahead breakfast casserole. I had no cornflakes or green pepper so I used panko crumbs and upped the red pepper and it was still yummy. Will def make again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have to say after trying other breakfast casseroles, this was by far the best, in my opinion. The only substitutions I made were regular bacon for the Canadian bacon and 2 cups shredded cheese for the sliced, as that was what I had. I was skeptical of the corn flakes on top, but that addition made it so delicious. This has become my go to for holiday brunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I did some minor modifications like reducing the amount of bread in order to control carbs and it turned out beautifully. This is very close to my late mother's, from whom I never got her recipe. Thanks and Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States