Christmas Morning Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is a fine recipe for popovers - you don't need to wait for Christmas morning to try these. A couple of tips - I used a cupcake pan - butter each cup really well and make sure to butter the upper edge and lip of each cup or they will stick. I would recommend using all purpose or cake flour - a heavier flour like bread flour will make these too dense. Low fat or non fat milk works well - make sure your batter is at room temp. - do NOT open the oven door while baking - mine took a total of 30 mins - 15 minutes at 450 and 15 mins at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Simple and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and got tasty popovers to go with my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I've never had popovers before.... would have rated them four stars but for two things. First off I had to take them out early because after putting them in the oven for 15 mins at 450 they did not need nearly 20 mins at 350. I think I pulled them out after half the time because they looked a little overdone (tasted ok though...). The other reason is quite simply my fault (I think...)... I put them in paper muffin cups and they stuck horribly and I was only able to eat the part that had puffed over the paper. Maybe if I had sprayed it with pam? I don't know. When I make cupcakes with paper I've never needed to do that....I thought these would be the same....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Made a half batch of these today. A good base, I don't like to use a lot of butter or jam as the intro to this recipe suggests so I think next time I may try to add some chives, herbs and seasonings to them. I often put garlic Old Bay seasoning in popovers, but I usually try the recipe as written the first time and these are a very good popover base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
These are delicious, especially if you add 1 tsp- 1/2 tbsp of dill or parsley to the mix. I made a couple changes to make this dairy free: used rice milk and olive oil instead of butter. With those changes, I would suggest upping the salt to 1/2 tsp to help with the flavor. Overall a successful conversion :). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
awesome recipe, incredibly easy and delicious, didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
OK-not great. My Mom's recipe was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These popovers are outstanding!!! Resturant quality at home and so very easy to make! Followed others advice & tried the cinnamon honey butter with them. Wanted to eat all of them myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Wow! I wanted something to go with my slow cooker roast. This is the ticket. I never heard of Popovers but this is now in my favorite box. They can be made with whole wheat flour and still turn out great! Thanks for sharing an easy too make and tasty recipe Sue :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I added 3[4 c cheddar cheese and 1]4 tsp almond extract for a little twist. Ehey were the hit of the event
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States