Christmas Morning Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
It burned my crockpot past repair. Perhaps if the sauce was mixed in before cooking it would have been allright. The flavor was great, and it was easy. It was popular with the guys. They all thought it was great. Flavorful, sweet. I didn't have enough nutmeg so used 1/2 nutmeg and made up the spices with a bit of coriander & mostly pumpkin pie seasoning. I don't think it is critical as long as you get enough spices in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Fitzhugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Cranberry flavor was too overwhelming and nutmeg and cinnamon overpowering. I would try it with all apple juice, cut out the cranberry jc, reduce the spices. I would try to achieve more maple flavor and use raisins instead of dried cranberries. The cranberries plumped up til they looked like grapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky
Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
It was soup in the morning so I added two more cups of oatmeal. My husband and son thought it tasted good, but I didn't like it-too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
We made this Christmas eve and it was ready for a nice relaxing breakfast after opening stockings. Our kids gobbled it up! We did use a crockpot liner which made clean up a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I really wanted to like this but I just couldn't. I took one bite and my boyfriend wouldn't even try it. It was like a big pot full of thick hot cranberry juice. I put the whole batch in the blender and mixed about 3 TBS with plane oatmeal for our 8 month old. She loved it! If you ask her it would be a 5 star recipe. I put the rest in in ice cube trays and froze it. Now we have enough home made organic baby food to last us until next christmas. Also I didn't add the butter because I didn't think any of us needed that much fat. I will try again with a lot of changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Law

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
To avoid burning my crockpot, I used a Reynolds turkey cooking bag and lined my crockpot with it. I made this for my husband's family and they loved it- even the avowed non-oatmeals eaters! Just because I love the spice with apples, I added cardamom to the spice mix. I tripled this recipe (I have a very large crockpot) and it held up just fine. The only thing I would do differently, when I enlarge the recipe is cut back on the cinnamon, because tripling that was way too much. I loved the combination of cranberry and nutmeg. This also reheated very very well-- after leaving my husband's family, the oatmeal sat for about and hour and half, before I plugged in the crockpot again at my parents, and it warmed back up delightfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
We thought this was wonderful. I sprayed the crockpot with pam, and didn't have any problems with sticking. I have an extremely hot crockpot, so I only put it on "keep warm" about 2am, and it was ready and perfect by 7am. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Tried Christmas morning for a large family gathering, and it received good reviews, and it didn't burn my Croc! This is a good base recipe, can't wait experiment, thanx for the post!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
No problems with crock pot burning as mentioned in another review. I really was excited about the recipe...all of the ingredients looked great. But my kids wouldn't even try it. I filled my bowl and ate about 3 bites. Too sweet for me. I'll stick with Quaker Instant oatmeal in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe was not great. My kids who love oatmeal didn't even eat this. I like the concept but the ingredients made this too sour. I used 100% Cranberry juice not the coctail so maybe that had a little to do with the tartness. This cooked for over 8 hours on low and I had to add another cup of oats and cook longer to thicken it up. If I do this again I will use all apple juice and water and may substitute the cranberries for raisins. I am not sure if I can even get my husband to try it with out the cranberry juice after tasting the origial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States