Christmas Morning Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is absolutely the worst recipe I have ever tried. I followed the recipe to the letter, and my oatmeal burned. It was way too sweet. I had to mix in milk and nuts to make it somewhat edible. Even then, it was sickeningly sweet. I ended up throwing it all out. I will stick with my tried and true cinnamon rolls for Christmas morning from now on. This oatmeal was disgusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunnerGirl5150

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Was delicious! The only thing that I changed was I used steel cut oats instead of regular oats. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Took my crockpot with us camping, and made this recipe for our last morning. Worked great to have a tasty, no fuss, few dishes meal before packing up to go home. (we had brown and serve sausages with it) HOWEVER, a word of caution for anyone wanting to increase the serving size. I needed to feed a group of 12, so I tripled the recipe. However, 12 cups of liquid (6 cups of water and 6 cups of juice) seemed like way too much. I decreased it to a total of 8 1/2 cups liquid, and it was still a bit more soupy than we would have prefered. 7 or 71/2 cups would have been enough liquid. Also, it was quite sweet. If I triple the recipe again, I'll only double the brown sugar. I have a large crock pot (20 cup capacity) and the triple batch (with 8.5 c liquid) filled it almost to the top. And yes, we had a lot left over. A double batch would have served 12 easily, even though almost everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
My first recipe choice this morning didn't pan out so this was my second start at a hot breakfast for the family. I did not make this in a slow cooker, I didn't have time for that. I actually made this recipe in my rice cooker! I didn't need AS much liquid, I used a cup and a half of water and a cup and a half of apple juice. I just kind of guessed. This worked out well for me and the smell of it cooking was amazing. The amount of sugar and spice was perfect and the fruit cooking along with the oatmeal gave it such amazing flavor. I loved that I could just throw everything together and let it go. Even though I didn't cook it in a crockpot, I think I got the best of the recipe without all the gumminess or burned oatmeal. I think cooking it in my rice cooker could use a little playing around with as far as the liquids go but for me, it was still a winner. Thanks for this great recipe--it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was really good. I didn't really like the taste of the apple juice in it however, so I'll use water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Buescher-Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
A little mushy but handy on busy mornings & yummy =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pettit04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for New Year's Day morning and it was perfect! It did not burn my crock pot; I cooked it on low for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this recipe a couple of years ago and it has become a family tradition. It's great! My family loves it. Don't use quick oats. ( My first mistake.) Maybe adjust the cooking time, but I think you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
It's a good idea, but I'm glad I tried it before Christmas morning to avoid the great disappointment. This was really dry and over cooked. This may work with some alterations, such as...more liquid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceybug8806

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, New York, USA
Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States