Christmas Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Did not use the orange juice just added more molasses, came out chewy just like my grandma's recipe. Only baked them 9-10 minutes as to not overbake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
The flavor of these was great. I cooked them thin to make them crisp but think I would make them thicker next time...I preferred the thicker (softer) cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Beautiful cookies! My kids stared at the dough in the fridge every other hour asking when we could bake the cookies. They baked up nice, and has a very lovely flavor. Not overbearing like most gingerbread recipes. My aunt who HATES gingerbread absolutely LOVED these!. Kids had a blast decorating :) Thank you Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
My dough was extremely dry and crumbly. Very hard to work with, I added some water. Don't know what I did wrong? Not sure what they'll taste like though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianneP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Really tasty. Good with or without frosting. Worked really well as cut outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Dough was easy to roll and cut shapes out of. With the 'clippings' I rolled them into 1-inch balls and pressed them into sugar and various other toppings, including crushed peppermint candy canes. I used mini cookie cutters and 12 minutes was definately long enough for my first sheet in the oven! I dropped it down to 9 minutes with better chewy cookie success. I went along someone elses review and doubled (not quadropled) the dry spices. Very tasty. GREAT alternative to gingerbread Christmas cookies Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made this cookies last year and they were great!! I like my cookies really spicey so quadrupled some of the spices. :D Best I have ever had. Frosting them and leaving them in a bag will fix the overcooked ones and make them soft and chewy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These cookies are fantastic! My only comment about the recipe is that I baked my cookies for 12 minutes hoping they would come out chewy, and they came out very crisp (but still delicious!) So if you are aiming for softer cookies, you may want to cut the time to 10 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made these and decorated them. One thing we especially liked was that there were no eggs in this recipe. With no eggs, everyone could lick the bowl. Also, we liked that they weren't too sweet. When you decorate them with frosting, some cookes get too sweet. Made cute gingerbread men too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This is the most amazing recipe! My cookies turned out looking exactly like the ones in the photo. I made approximately half of the recipe and didn't even have baking soda on hand, but they turned out great. I put them in the freezer for only a half hour and then in between rolling them, and they still rolled wonderfully. Also, they aren't too sweet at all. But, very savoury. :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matheson, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States