Christmas Maple Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I was leary of trying this recipe using the microwave and it did not work for me. It is too difficult to keep checking the candy thermometer for proper temp. I threw out the entire first batch which overcooked, and started again using a pan on the stove. I let the candy thermometer reach soft ball and followed directions from there and it turned out perfectly. I also added 1/2 cup walnuts and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This is a perfect Maple Fudge recipe IF you cook in the traditional way..in a pan on the stove till soft ball stage. Omit the beating in the ice water..just stir for a while until it starts to thicken and pour into a greased pan. Made the microwave method and didn't work for me!!! Great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This was my first time trying to make fudge and I was pleased! I used the stovetop instead of the microwave as well, and it worked! I think that I beat it a little too much because the texture doesn't seem quite right to me, it flakes when I cut it into pieces. It still tastes good, and I have used the flaky bits in with a chocolate chip cookie recipe and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberfoyle, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I should have read the other reviews more closely, as I broke my glass bowl when I put it in the water. Then, obviously, the liquid fudge all went down the drain. After I calm down and am not so upset, I might try this recipe again the right way - the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Very easy and very good. This is a definite winner. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Echols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Perfection! This is what we call fudge in my country (Trinidad and Toabgo) First I halved this recipe for two reasons - 1. the amount it claims to make and 2. the bad reviews, but I was really craving this sweet and hoped it would turn out like the type I buy here. First I left out the ice bath step and followed the recipe using the stove top instead of the microwave and I let it cook on low heat till it reached 240 degrees on my candy thermometer. I swiftly removed it from the heat and added in 1 tbsp of butter (yes, I put in more butter, if making the full recipe I'd use 2 tbsps) and the maple extract, then took my whisk and put my strength into it and beat it for about 1 -2 minutes till it stopped looking like caramel and more glossy and thick. From here it is race to pour it into your waiting dish cause it starts to set up almost immediately! I scored my fudge and left it to cool for about an hour at room temp. and it is perfect! Exactly what I wanted. Smooth, melt in your mouth, delicious fudge! Now my beef with the serving size - I got way less than this recipe says, unless you are cutting this the size of mints maybe. I will be making this again and the full recipe too! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I'm not exactly sure why this recipe is called fudge but it is not. I should have realized something was wrong when looking at the recipe but it is missing the bulk....marshmellows, mm cream or whatever. This is much more similar to a caramel recipe but even though i've had my fair share of candy making in the past and followed the directions to a "T" it came out very grainy. It did have a good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Extremely disappointed! Didn't turn out the way it was supposed to! Will try it again but on the stove this time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This tastes just like the maple fudge my Gramma used to make during Christmas. She always added chopped walnuts to hers. I prefer chopped pecans. Good stuff, and very easy. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I got a new microwave oven, and i guess the power makes a difference to the cooking time, because when i made a batch as before, it set faster than i could get it in the dish. It was crumbly, but i love this recipe so much that i couldnt give up without tweaking the microwave cooking time. I lessened the time by 2 minutes, and it worked out! The original name of this recipe is "sucre-a-creme", but i changed it to fudge so that others would have a point of reference. I agree its not exactly fudge, however i prefer this to any fudge i have everly tried. It made 30 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States