Christmas Gift Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This makes a fantastic pumpkin bread! The second time I made it, I made two small changes. First, instead of 1 cup granulated sugar, I used 1/2 cup granulated and 1/2 cup brown sugar - adds a bit more moistness and flavor to the bread. And second, I skipped the glaze. I didn't think it added anything to the bread. Awesome, five star recipe. Just watch the baking time. 1 hour is an estimation. Ovens vary, so set a timer for 50 minutes and then begin watching to see when YOURS is done. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This recipe makes fabulous muffins too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I love this recipe..made it last year a few times from Oct-Dec..and just made it...its baking as I type.....yum yum..I didn't.change a thing...well an extra dash of.cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I have to agree that this is a very nice gift loaf. I tripled the recipe and got 5 4x8 loaves. Looks nice, tastes great. I followed the recipe exactly and baked them for 1 hour at 350 degrees. I can definitely rate this recipe with all 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made two small changes: I used Hershey cinnamon chips instead of semi-sweet chocolate chips and pecans instead of walnuts. I chose to make muffins out of this recipe instead of one big loaf. I did get 12 medium sized muffins out of one recipe. Mine were done at just about 20 minutes. We thought this quick bread recipe was very nice but the glaze made it a little too sweet. I thought it could use a little more pumpkin or something to make it a little moister. Next time, I might up the pumpkin to a full cup and forgo the glaze all together OR skip the chips and go with the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I found the taste of the bread great on it's own, I wish I didn't add the sugar glaze, it made it far too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This recipe is delicious!! Had to make another loaf because the first one dissappeared...yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this recipe for gifts this year (2010). Everyone raved over the bread! I doubled the batch and made 3 - 8x4 loaves. I did not put icing on the bread instead - I sprinkled additional walnuts on the top. The loaves came out looking great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Made this for a family christmas party. Everyone loved it! Said it went great with coffee. The icing was very yummy! Followed the recipe exactly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
this bread is OK... sugar should be incresed about 1/4 cup, and maybe a dash more cinnamon too! mine took less than 1hr to bake, and it burnt a bit.. :( soo.make sure you keep an eye on it ..no one like a bitter bread.. i also replaced nuts w/ dry cranberries- taste good w/ chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States