Christmas Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
My sisters and I always joke about getting Gramma a fruit cake for Christmas. But now gramma requests this one. She loves it. And says that it is better after it sits for a few days. I made her two and she said the second one was better because it had time to ferment. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
The worst thing about this cake, is that it goes so fast. I make this cake every year but now I double it. The first time I made it, I was careful to use the exact fruits the recipe called for, but now I use the exact measurment for fruit, but use my favorite dried fruit. I really love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. The cake comes out light, moist and delicious. If you don't like the dreaded dense brick of a fruitcake that is sold at christmas time you will definitely like this one. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I didn't have time 70 days to mature, only 17 days, but the cake came out excellent. My relatives love it. Now I know why the portion is so small, because the cake is so rich! Yum, Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I make this every year. It is by far the best recipe I have ever found. I can't always find the dried fruit that it calls for and instead use 3/4 c. of what ever mixed dried fruit that I can find. This definately gets better with age, if it lasts that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Very tasty! This was my first attempt at a fruitcake so I was quite anxious to unvail it and try it after it's 10 weeks of resting. Wow, is it good! I respected the recipe in it's measurements but did mess around a bit with the ingredients themselves only because I live in France and certain items are not readily available, like dried mango and dried cranberries. I did have dried cherries on hand and I added dried apricots in place of the mango. I also swaped walnuts for the pecans, once again an availability issue. But the recipe lends itself nicely to these kinds of modifications. It slices best if chilled a bit, then be sure to use a sharp knife. It's not a "pretty" cake but a plate with thin slices nicely arranged accompanied by a pot of strong coffee is a moment to remember! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Biarritz, Aquitaine, France
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Karen, thanks for standing up for fruitcake!! Indeed, this is nothing like the heavy brick of fruitcake that comes in a cardboard box. I've found that the best way to get people to try this delicious cake is to not tell them it's a fruitcake. Call it cake or molasses cake or gingerbread or whatever. Once they try it, you can admit the truth-- it's fun to watch the reactions. The only significant change I'd suggest to this fabulous recipe is to let sit for longer if you can. If you can make the cake a year in advance, do so. Just store it per the recipe and add a bit rum every month or so, and you'll be treated to an amazing dessert when the time is right. Anyone who enjoys this recipe should also consider making Simnel cake, typically served at Eastertime. It's a different sort of fruitcake, made with marzipan, and equally delicious. Additionally, I'd suggest substituting Demerara sugar for brown sugar, if possible. Demerara sugar isn't much more expensive, and it's often found in regular grocery stores next to the other sugars. It is a light brown sugar with larger crystals, and it provides a stickier texture and a really rich aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I could not stop eatting this...I like fruit cake, but I loved this recipe...I soaked it in white wine instead of rum though and it gave it a great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
this recipe is great! I started making it 2 years ago and now I'm getting orders from impatient friends who are having trouble waiting till x-mas. the only thing I changed is I refuse to put any of that yucky citron in it. what a great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
No store-bought fruitcake can compare to this! I made enough to give as gifts, and now it's all anyone wants from me! Even people who "hated" fruitcake loved this recipe, and I'm planning on making it again this year, times 8 or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States