Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I made the following adjustments: - Floured and browned the beef first - Rinsed the browning pan with the wine and 1 cup water (only used half the water since using a crock pot) - Layered the veggies in the bottom, meat on top, held the spices and bouillon back, cooked on low - crumbled the bouillon and spices into the pot 2 hours before serving. Crushed the spices between my fingers to release flavor, used 1/2 tsp of each. - Added 2 bay leaves and a lightly heaping tablespoon of cornstarch. Wound up a little thin but acceptably so to my tastes. Very flavorful. Keeping the bouillon back towards the end will help keep your meat moist; the sodium draws moisture out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Extremely tasty! I did not change a thing except coat my meat in flour and brown before adding. I used the slow cooker and layered it as follows: tomatoes, carrots, celery, potatoes, onions, meat. I added 1/2 cup water and 1/4 cup red wine and then cooked on high for 2 hours with no stirring. After 2 hours I began stirring about every 30 minutes and then 2 hours before serving, I added another 1/2 cup water and then the boullion and spices as another member said that the salt in the boullion draws moisture out of the meat if you add it at the beginning and she was right as the meat was nice and tender this way. Add peas 20 minutes before serving. This came out very thick and rich for me and I had to use no thickner, other than the flour coating on the meat. This is by far the best stew I have made. Oh, and I recommend pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I'm not a big stew fan, but this recipe is fantastic! I used my slow cooker for this recipe. At the suggestion of others, I also doubled the amount of seasoning. During the last hour of cooking, I added a package of Knorr brand brown gravy mix. The result was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I hate to be the one to give this recipe 2 star, but I will explain. I mede it exactly as it is written, and at six hours into cooking, the meat was done, though tough, the veggies were not fully cooked/stil slightly crunchy, it was very bland, and the base was extremely thin and watery. I came back here and took a good look at the reviews and found the problem. Most people changed the recipe. Anyway, I salvaged it by doing most of the stuff listed, turning the oven up to 300 and cooking it for 3 more hours. Then it was very good, but also extremely annoying, especially eating dinner at 9:30. Please, people, stop rating recipes that you have drastically altered and changed. It is very misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
this was tasty but sort of thin. I used the crockpot (which was FULL) instead of regular oven and would recommend to cut the water in half. You can always add if it is a little thick, but the liquid that comes from cooking vegetables in a crockpot will make it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Awesome! I used 3pounds of stew meat and didn't cut it into 1 inch pieces, some were bigger...some were almost 3 inches. I made it in the Crock pot for 8 hours on Low, added frozen corn along with the peas and added more wine (about 3/4 cup) since there was more meat. My husband told me this was the best Stew he has had in a long time, and also mentioned how the meat wasn't dry at all, I think keeping it in large chunks helped. I also added some flour at the end to thicken it a bit (Mixed it with some of the beef stew liquid) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
My husband absolutely loved this recipe!! I made it in the crock pot. I would use a little more spice next time but other than that it was delicious. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
GREAT! I also went with double seasonings. Also added salt to taste. The brown gravy mix at the end is a great addition! Will make often...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belzoni, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I made this today in the crockpot (8 hours on low) and had it waiting when my husband and I got home from church....What a treat! He tends to be reserved with his compliments, so his enthusiastic "This is great stuff!" was practically gushing! :) I'll definitely make this over and over again. I actually made half the recipe, but doubled the original spice amounts and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I am the original submitter of this recipe and just made this stew for Christmas Eve after a long hiatus. Please make the recipe as is. I've always made it in the crock pot and it turns out perfectly. It is stew not soup. It does not need additional moisture. The original recipe did include 1 T salt, and 1 T sugar and freshly ground black pepper. I usually toss everything into a crock pot except the peas and let it cook all day on low. Then toss in the frozen peas about 30 minutes before serving. It is not a real juicy or tomato-y stew but is what we prefer. This year I tried cutting the meat into smaller cubes, dusting with flour and browning before adding to crock pot. I really don't think it made any difference. I would go back to just tossing the meat into the crock pot raw. Tapioca is the thickening agent and works just fine without the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States