Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This was to die for beef stew. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Who'd-a-thunk that rosemary could make or break a stew? This is the way I will make it (with my own improvisations to vegetables) from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This is yummy stew - I like lots of meat so I doubled that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
When I made this for the group I cook for, and they loved it. The meat was flavorful and easy for me. I put all of it in a roaster put in 200 degree oven and it is ready by 5:30, and I could get everything else done that needed to be done for the day without worrying about stopping to fix dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
We were NOT impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
this was tasty but sort of thin. I used the crockpot (which was FULL) instead of regular oven and would recommend to cut the water in half. You can always add if it is a little thick, but the liquid that comes from cooking vegetables in a crockpot will make it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This was just okay- not great but not bad. The only thing I changed was that I doubled the spices and added some crushed bay leaves, and it still was too bland for my taste. The meat tasted the best after cooking for so long. I might try again with more spices, or even adding an onion soup packet instead of the onions to liven it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Makes a LOT! I will make this again but next time only a half recipe. I didn't have enough tapioca so it was not quite thick enough for my tastes - shoul dhave mashed one potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Very good and easy to throw together. No fuss! I cooked mine in the oven at 200 for about 8 hours. Everything was well cooked. I also added more herbs and changed mine to thyme, bay leaf, and parsley. Because I didn't have tapioca, I followed the suggestion of another review and used barley (about 1/4 cup). I loved the barley and mine wasn't watery at all. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This was wonderful. I substituted low sodium beef broth for the water and a little extra pepper. The beef was tender and perfect even after about 8-10 hours in the crock pot. My parents drove in Thanksgiving eve and it was the perfect meal for a cold Colorado night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States