Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Dan added salt and pepper for more flavor I really enjoyed the homestyle cooking. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I read this recipe in a Christmas novel submitted by it's author years ago and have used it since. My kids grew up on it and love it. My sister and I used to make this while on vacation in her crock pot. It's that easy and delish! I recomend this reciipe 100%! Just put everything in crock, stir and walk away. Dinner will be ready when you are. No mess. This recipe will stay in our family forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Harvey Jellison Melton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cream Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
We thought this stew was wonderful. We don't like a thick pasty stew so we thought it was perfect. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Excellent recipe. I love spices so added a lot of extra spice to the dish. Also, I floured and browned the meat before adding it to the cockpot. I also used a pork and beef combo for the stew meat. Added the Knorr's brown gravy mix the last hour, and it was the perfect consistency. Next time I will add mushrooms as recommended by another reviewer. I served in round sour dough bread bowls. Yummy!! I would have given it 5 stars, but had to read all the reviews first and then modified it accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FASTPITCHSHARK1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made several adjustments to this recipe, to accommodate what I had on hand, and preferences. I added 1/2 chopped green bell pepper, skipped the tapioca (as I was afraid it would provide a strange consistency), used 1 15oz. can petite diced tomatoes & 1 15oz. can stewed tomatoes, used beef broth for the water and bouillon, used 1 tsp. Italian seasoning (though next time I would double that) and 1 tsp. montreal steak seasoning, then skipped the red wine altogether. I cooked in a slow cooker for 2 hours on high heat, then reduced to low for 5 hours. The meat was very tender and the broth was very rich. However, it did seem to be lacking in herb flavor. I may try it next time with the Knorr brown gravy packet as another reviewer suggested. I also plan on using 1 8oz. can of tomato sauce for half the broth/water next time. Overall, good recipe, hubby *loved* it, but it could definitely use more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
good basic recipe. i also thickened it and added more seasoning and veggies (peas,more carrots and potato also chopped prunes (husband's family trad.)and i used garlic flavored oil to brown meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Okay,I really did not think this was anything special, tasty definitely but...my family LOVED it! There were not any left-overs. ALL GONE. I used fresh herbs instead of dried. I added a touch of red pepper flakes because we like it spicy. And I did have to thicken it with cornstarch at the end. its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavvyTech
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This recipe turned out very flavorful. I didn't follow the suggestions of other viewers and I should have, because they were right, the stew turns out very runny more like a soup. I prefer a thicker stew so I added a little corn starch to the stew and it thickened right up. Delicious! I will make this again and again. My family loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
First of all, this isn't what I would call beef stew like I'm used to having. The stew I'm used to having has a really thick hearty sauce, this was rather watery. However, that aside..... I made this recipe to the letter, and actually fudged a bit on the spices. I doubled at least the amount of all of them. I also added in 4 chopped cloves of garlic. I can describe it in one word...bland!!! I can eat it with a *lot* of salt and pepper, but it just tastes like beef and vegetables. The only good thing is that the beef ended up very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Mmmmm...good :) I think it was the tapioca that added that little extra "something".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States