Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very Good.. YUmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Had it last night - my father in law had seconds! - A first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Real good stew recipe. I was wondering what the tapioca would do to stew.. but really it just made the broth a bit thicker. I did add about 1 cup of corn to the recipe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Made this according to recipe (even with the peas-- I was skeptical), except that I simmered it on the stovetop. Husband and children gave it a thumbs-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Simple to make and the best beef stew ever. Kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OROSI RILEY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
We made a modified version of this on our last camping trip. Cubed the meat from a 7-bone roast then seasoned/floured & browned in our camp dutch oven along with the onion & 2 garlic cloves. Forgot about the canned tomatoes, used italian seasoning blend (don't keep to many spices in the trailer), added the veggies an hour into cooking time & cooked another 45 minutes. Vented the lid for the last 30 minutes & no need for tapioca. This was super tasty, rich, thick & oh so comforting on a cool evening in the great outdoors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Tried this and it was very easy and a wonderful way to use the veggies from the garden. It was nice to put it in the oven and forget about it for a few hours. My husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Sooo good and so easy! I decreased the meat to 1 1/2 pounds and added mushrooms and a bit more tapioca. Cooked it in my cast iron qoc au vin pot for 3 1/2 hours on 300 and oh my goodness, soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
2 cups of water have been removed from the ingredients to match the submitter's original submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I am the original submitter of this recipe and just made this stew for Christmas Eve after a long hiatus. Please make the recipe as is. I've always made it in the crock pot and it turns out perfectly. It is stew not soup. It does not need additional moisture. The original recipe did include 1 T salt, and 1 T sugar and freshly ground black pepper. I usually toss everything into a crock pot except the peas and let it cook all day on low. Then toss in the frozen peas about 30 minutes before serving. It is not a real juicy or tomato-y stew but is what we prefer. This year I tried cutting the meat into smaller cubes, dusting with flour and browning before adding to crock pot. I really don't think it made any difference. I would go back to just tossing the meat into the crock pot raw. Tapioca is the thickening agent and works just fine without the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States