Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This was wonderful. I substituted low sodium beef broth for the water and a little extra pepper. The beef was tender and perfect even after about 8-10 hours in the crock pot. My parents drove in Thanksgiving eve and it was the perfect meal for a cold Colorado night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
After 12 years of marriage, I finally found a great beef stew recipe! My son loved it too. I did all the things everyone said to do. The only thing was that after six hours in the oven, the potatoes were not soft so I cooked it an extra hour at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This was good. I added double the spices and a bay leaf. I also added 1/2 cup of red wine and a packet of gravy mix. As well, I didn't add the tapioca but instead used barley. I cooked it in my slow cooker on high for 5 hours and it came out great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
My family loves this recipe. I doubled the spices but did not add the gravy. This is comfort food at its best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
It was OK. Nothing spectacular. I like barley so I added too much and it sucked all the liquid from the stew. That was probably why it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I made this in the slow cooker and my husband actually said the words "this is a keeper". Because slow cookers tend to 'keep' more liquid than a dutch oven, the only thing I would do different next time is use less water. I doubled the spices and I did add the brown gravy mix at the end. With less water I don't think you would need the gravy mix. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
For a LONG time, I've been searching for a good old fashioned, heart warming stew, and I am so happy to say that I found it with this recipe. Many of the reviews suggested to double the dry spices and that I did along with using corn starch for a thickening agent since I didn't have any tapioca. Thank you so much Maridele! The stewed tomatoes really add a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I was very disappointed in the way this dish turned out considering all the rave reviews. I cooked it for 8 hours on low in the crock-pot. The sauce was very watery, even though I added the tapioca and the brown gravy mix. In fact, it was so watery that I had to serve it over egg noodles just to soak up all the juice. The veggies came out fine. The beef was fork tender, but was dry inside. I won't make this again. I just don't have good luck with crock-pot meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I took the suggestions of doubling the spices and adding the brown gravey packet. I also added mushrooms and peppers..it was a big hit!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I made this for New Year Eve, it was wonderful. I floured and browned the beef for some additional flavor/looks, double the herbs, increased the wine (cheap merlot), and used a brown gravy packet as someone else suggested. Really liked the tomato in the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States