Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is good any time when the weather is cold, not just at Christmas. Long cooking time makes the meat fork tender! however... 1. Recipe needs salt 2. I used a bit more meat. 3. Like some other posters, my instinct was to brown the meat in some fat, but I didn't, maybe next time. 4. I used a very big, heavy skillet with a tight-fitting lid 5. I used regular tomatoes, not stewed 6. I did not thaw the peas and recommend that you don't 7. most importantly, instead of boullion cubes, I used 2 teaspoons of "Better Than Boullion" paste and two cups of vegetable stock. The extra liquid was very helpful, and in fact I don't think it would have worked for me otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by della206

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Best recipe !!!!!So good .Spices just right.Had 1/2 pkg dried onion soup to use up,so threw that in,The wine was merlot.Good sized chunks of carrot and less onion( due to soup mix).Used cornstarch&water to thicken as I lost my tapioca!!!A great recipe to add or subtract what you have on hand.Slow cooker 5-6 hrs.A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Wonderful! I followed the recipe as it said but I also used flour and browned meat and held off using the beef soup base for 3 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I didn't have marjoram, so I substituted sweet basil. I would definitely recommend another's reviewer's advice and double the spices, as it was a bit bland. This makes A LOT of stew! I did add brown gravy mix at the end when I added the peas as the gravy was more of an au jus at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I know some people are saying they cut back on the water - there is no water in this recipe, and it doesn't need it. I followed it exactly and it was so good!!!! Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing! Best beef stew I've tasted! After reading all the reviews and revisions, I went with the recipe as written - no modifications. In the oven, exactly as written. It was/is perfect as written. Thickness is appropriate for stew - very thick. Vegetables and meat were perfect - not tough, not mushy. I'll be the first to admit that I'm not a super-skilled cook, but I do ok. I've traveled a lot and know good food; it was great to produce really good food! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very easy and extremely delicious, will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I don't think I'll be waiting until Christmas Eve to make this again. I had a couple of insignificant changes; i skipped the marjoram (couldn't find it in cabinet) and doubled the thyme, used (2) 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes (that's what I had), 5 oz of peas and 5 oz edamame and 1 cup wine. I was concerned the onions wouldn't cook down enough but they did. I thought the consistency was good, it was a bit thinner than I would usually make but it was nice for dunking the dinner rolls. I layered the stuff in the pot, starting and ending with the tomatoes and added salt and pepper for each layer. I ended up having it in the oven for 5 hours at 275 deg. and then on low on the stove top for 30 min while the dinner rolls baked. I will try in crock pot but will soften the onions first for that method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe needs modification. I followed the directions and found the meat to be tough, vegetables over cooked and the flavor bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
OK, I gave this five stars, but I did make some additions. I know how some of you frown on rating a recipe that you've modified. First I substituted venison for the beef. I did not per-cook or brown it, although I may the next time. In addition to the frozen peas, I added frozen corn and frozen beans. I didn't thaw any of these, just popped them into the mix. My wife got me pearl tapioca and I didn't know what to make of that, but I just added the same amount. After cooking a while (crock pot) it seemed quite thick so I added a can of Campbell's beef consumee and a can of water. This thinned it out to more of a stew than like the pudding it was. Like any recipe I think one has to be able to adjust it to their way of cooking and tastes. I made this the night before and then kept it overnight in our garage which was at about 50deg F. We served it the next day (Christmas) along with Butternut Squash Chepotlie Bisque and it was great. I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castorland, New York, USA
Living In: Glenfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States