Christmas Egg Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this recipe from the Krasnapolski Hotel in Amsterdam on Christmas morning with the addition of 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese and 20 oz. frozen spinach, thawed, drained, and mixed into the batter along with 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese. Great served with halved grape tomatoes and shredded basil in a light vinaigrette, along with fresh fruit and crusty, buttered bread. This recipe makes wonderful left-overs, easily reheated in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Made this for the Family Christmas morning..was good! missing something though..like bacon or sausage or onions and green peppers..I will try one of those next time...but other wise very easy and pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
There are plenty of recipes for oven omelets full of veggies and meat, but I was looking for a very simple protein dish so that the fresh fruit and cranberry scones I served wouldn't have to compete with a riot of flavors. This recipe was perfect. The only changes I made were to skip the melted butter and just grease the baking dish with a tablespoon of butter, and I reduced the remaining recipe by half for an 8" square baking dish. The Jack cheese is essential to the flavor. I made it once with mozzarella and found that it was a bit too bland; but either Jack or Swiss gives it a nice more-than-just-eggs kick. It makes a pretty dish and slices very neatly. I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
We had this Christmas morning, my whole family absolutely loved it. We may need to add to our tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Big hit with my husband and two boys. I actually used my cast iron skillet for this. Just plopped the butter in the skillet and stuck it in the oven while it preheated. I did add a little Frank's Hot Sauce and some fresh ground pepper. I think next time, seeing as this is so simple, I might saute some vegetables in the skillet with the butter, then add in the egg ingredients and throw it into the oven. Very VERY simple, which I appreciated. It's like a quick omelette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was good. Everyone liked it's a 4, certainly not a 5. I had to cook it around 40 minutes to make sure the center was cooked. I cooked, and added some crumbled sausage. If you make some toast you have a complete breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgmonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is just plain easy and terrific! I would make it again in a heartbeat. All the other suggestions are great and will give them a try too. I might like to try Chorizo sausage or maybe crab in it too. A keeper for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I have used a similar recipe every Christmas for more than 20 years. This recipe is a bit skimpy for 12 people. I use 20 eggs, 2lb. cottage cheese and 2 lb. shredded jack cheese. I add 2 small cans of chopped green chiles. This fills two pans: a 9"x13" + 7"x11" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was just delicious! I tried it for breakfast this morning when looking for some variety from the norm- I happened to have most of the ingredients on hand- not quite enough montery jack cheese for the recipe so I supplemented the rest with parmesan. I scaled the recipe down to 2 servings, and made them in 2 4 inch ramekins. I cooked for about 20 minutes. Divine, and very fancy looking with cut melon on a pretty plate. I don't know why people would save this for Christmas, it was simple to prepare and divine to eat. I'll be making it more often then once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This egg dish was easy to make. I didn't add the cottage cheese and I used an italian blend of cheeses. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshall, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States